We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Lichfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wall Island Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Hergenrath, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Easy to find and on arrival pleasantly greeted by the reception staff. Check-in was very easy and quick as paper work was already prepared. Room ample size and clean and tidy. Eating possibilities just opposite the hotel. Bed and pillows comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was good. Free parking and free internet at this hotel - a big plus.
Will return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    96
    60
    21
    10
See reviews for
73
57
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarcelles, France
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Good points: Not noisy, free parking, breakfast is good, room is very clean, and the staff is quite kind!

Bad points: Looks like an hospital (like a lot of chains..), and the bed is quite small. The location is bad if you don't have a car

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Antonio P,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the feedback you have provided which will help us as we continually enhance the product and service experience.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Located next to a major roundabout on the A5 you'd have thought the building would have been built to a standard where noise suppression was included in the design.

After a sleepless night caused by noise from roadworks on the road about which finally ended at 0430. The road noise then from the increased traffic increased

If you are going to stay here. Ask for a room with as low a room ne'er as possible to be as far fr the roundabout as possible. And an odd room number to be on the shielded side of the hotel

As it stands. A typical HIE

Bed comfort not brilliant
Room amenities basic
Cleanliness ok.
Bathroom. Needs a deep clean. Black mould in corners of shower
Wifi ok
Noise suppression of room door. Poor
Sleep gained. Very little

"Free" breakfast. Basic . Most tasteless sausages ever. And awful coffee. But you won't starve

Wouldn't stay here again even if you paid me

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear docbob2596

I am sorry that your stay was impacted as a result of the roadworks taking place on the A5. I can advise that as the roadworks move on to the next phase shortly which should minimise disruption to our customers.

As I am sure you can appreciate the roadworks are outside of the control of the hotel but we have been working hard to minimise disruptuion to our customers. Ear plugs are avaliable on request from the reception desk although I would always suggest leting a member of my team know if we can help further during your stay. They are happy to help.

As part of our ongoing improvement plan we are hoping to replace all beds in the hotel in July, I have also asked for our housekeeper to report back on your comments regarding the bathroom.

I trust my swift response serves to demonstrate our absolute commitment to guest satisfaction and hope that you will reconsider your decision to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

good basic clean room - breakfast very basic but edible and staff helpful when I had to change room on arrival due to traffic noise.
we went for a family occasion and were all able to gather in the resaturant/bar



Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Terry.

Thanks for leaving a review.

I am glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and I am particularly pleased that the team resolved your problem quickly and to your satisfaction.

We look foward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Holiday inn was very good value indeed. I'd like to have had a slightly larger bed and the breakfast was minimal but for the price and service it was excellent.

The staff were superb and I want to mention Sarah from reception who went the extra mile when I. Discovered a day later I had left a valuable ring there.

It was returned to me promptly with information by phone about its posting and tracking.
I'm pleasantly impressed by their customer service,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Baggies_fan

Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

I am particularly pleased that Sarahs efforts in returning your lost item contributed to your stay being a great experience.

I have already made Sarah aware of your review and also thank you for e-mailing us directly to thank us.

We look foward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Incredible value for money, free Wi-Fi, charming and efficient staff, spotlessly clean room of quite generous proportions, v comfortable bed, quiet location, perfectly adequate breakfast, a little out in the country but convenient enough for Lichfield - all in all perfect in every way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Alwyn

Thanks for leaving such a lovely and positive review of your stay with us here in Lichfield.

We take great pride in offering our customers a great experience and always value learning of customers that have had an enjoyable stay.

I can assure you that your comments will be shared with the hotel team during our daily meetings.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Following my recent stay here I was very impressed! I was greeted on reception by a welcoming and friendly staff memeber who checked me in promtly with no delay, my room was clean and the bed was comfy. I enjoyed a drink from the bar, the bar area was clean, warm and had a friendly atmosphere! In the morning I went down for my FREE breakfast, it wasnt the best of breakfasts however being a limited service hotel I wasnt exactly expecting breakfast at tiffanys! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the area and want a comfortable and relaxed stay, however if your wanting a service which wait on you hand and foot go to the ritz!

Room Tip: 323 is the room to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear OscarBlower.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

It is always nice to read positive reviews that recognuie the team for their efforts in delivering a good service.

We aim to offer customers with everything they need for an enjoyable stay. Your comments regarding the friendly team will be shared with them.

We look forward to seeing you for your next visit to Lichfield.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Address: Wall Island Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure guest. All guestrooms offer WiFi Internet Access, Free Express Breakfast, power showers and tea and coffee making facilities. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents room. Hotel offers a residents bar which shows the latest sports on Sky TV. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel lies within the midlands high speed road connections to the whole of the UK via the M6 Toll, M42, A5 and the A38 with the National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham City Centre being only 20 minutes away. Airports are easy to access with Birmingham International Airport only 20 minutes away and Nottingham East Midlands Airport 40 minutes drive away. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to attend the attractions nearby such as Drayton Manor Theme Park, Lichfield Cathedral, National Memorial Arboretum, Wall Roman Site and Alton Towers. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel also makes an ideal base if you are visiting local businesses such as Nextiraone, Pink Homeloans, Faurecia or Tesco. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Hotel Lichfield
Holiday Inn Lichfield
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.