We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Lichfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wall Island Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Lichfield
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very comfy beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed over the weekend to visit the Arboretum, which is not far.

I was very pleased with the service from the friendly staff, our room was clean. The bed was very comfy. We were welcomed in our room by an enormous spider on the wall, we liberated him out of the window. The addition of a sofa nice to use whilst watching TV, the full length mirror was in a good positions. I liked the idea of the bathroom door closing onto the loo if you are sharing and someone who is desperate to clean their teeth or wash hands, not sure if they wanted to shower as the glass between the loo and shower although frosted not ideal.

The breakfast is very good, I enjoyed to fresh fruit and croissants, my husband took full advantage of the sausages, scramble eggs and beans. I used the milk from the cereal area to added to my coffee as the machine made it quiet strong. The yoghurt are poor quality, leaving an after taste. As it is included in the price it is very good value.

The whole experience has made to look at other Holiday Inns near where I would like to visit next time. Sorry travel lodge, Holiday inn has my vote from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

It is a delight to read your comments about the hotel, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. (Despite the spider imposing on your stay!)

I have taken on board your feedback about the yoghurts and will pass this feedback on to our suppliers. We value this feedback as we want to offer the best breakfast to our guests. Overall I am glad to see that you enjoyed the complimentary Express Start breakfast that we offer to all of our guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future!

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    79
    56
    21
    9
See reviews for
64
46
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The welcome for seven cyclists was exemplary and unexpected “We have arranged for your bikes to be stored in the meeting room overnight. Come right in and we will sort them out imminently”. Rooms were clean and had almost everything needed – the soap dispenser ran out in one. The breakfast is certainly more than “continental” with sausages, beans and scrambled egg on offer in addition to cereal, croissants, and the usual. Over-deliverying on breakfast is a good way of sending guests off with a nice warm feeling about the hotel – it certainly succeeded.
Unfortunately hotels have difficulty managing other guests and it is not a good idea for guests to return, apparently the worse for wear, at two in the morning loudly proclaiming “We’re in (expletive) room 111, where is (expletive) room 111?”. This could invite targeted retaliation from others less tolerant than I in the early hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, it is a pleasure to read that you had such a good stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for the noise caused by other guests. I understand it may not always be convenient, but please give reception a call if such instances occur again and we can arrange for a member of staff to reduce this noise for you.

We hope that should your travels (on your bikes), bring you back to Lichfield, that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, from Saturday to Monday. Arrived around 4pm and check in only took 15 seconds thanks to Priority club card! Room (double bed with sofabed) was clean and felt fresh.
Needed some sellotape to wrap some presents and reception kindly provided some!!! We had forgotten to buy it from the town (Lichfield centre is 2-3 miles away!)
Breakfast was free and very good - very busy on Sunday morning, less busy on Monday morning. Croissant, pain au chocolat, scrambled eggs, sausage and baked beans with a selection of cereals, fruits and long-life yoghurts.
We left the room after 2pm on Sunday so cleaner didn't refresh room and left a plastic bag including towels, toilet paper, tea etc outside door, which was fine by us.
Virgin active gym is next door - great if you are a member at another club and want to use their facilities. 24h Macdonalds drive-through is also next door... handy for late night food!
Internet is not free of charge - £7/day.
Room cost £53 (non refundable, booked less than a week before stay), which was very reasonable given the above.
All in all, a reasonably priced basic clean hotel that does the job with very friendly reception staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

We appreciate such a detailed review as this gives future guests a great idea of what to expect when they are deciding which hotels to book. I am pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel and I hope that should your travels bring you back to Lichfield, that you would come and stay with us again.

Remember to book direct at least 21 days in advance for the best available rates!

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent a night in this hotel having to be in the area for a funeral. We were hoping for a double, but there were only twins left. I had misunderstood the website I booked with as I was certain we would get a double room. As it turned out, this was fine.

The room was very clean and modern. The beds were very comfortable and we both had an excellent night's sleep. Breakfast was basic, but adequate.

The staff manager was very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stop there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would return to us again.

Do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly for your next reservation and we can reserve you your preferred room type.

We hope to see you again soon!!

Kindest Regards



Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good hotel, friendly staff.

No restaurant on site but they were happy to provide local take away menus and these could even be charged to the room.

Room fine, standard HIE and the same goes for breakfast.

Not much to do in the direct area and would have been quiet a walk into town if you wanted to have a drink.

Otherwise all good and good rates as well on the night I stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

It is a pleasure to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel to be good and friendly.

I noted your comment about there being no actual restaurant within the hotel and that at the moment is true, however by November we will be introducing a limited menu into the hotel that I hope you will come back and try.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stopped there for one night. Reception was extremely helpful, rooms very clean and modern, obviously not long decorated. Lovely and quiet, we didn't have any noise disturbing us in the night. The breakfast was good for what we paid. We will probably stop there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

It is a delight to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and scored us so high!

I hope that you come back and visit us again very soon. Please remember to book at least 21 days in advance to get the Best Rates!

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've just arrived back from my forth stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield whilst working in the area. I found the place very average, as with most Holiday Inns. The rooms were clean but basic, no air-con, very poor in-room coffee (reminiscent of some Lidl own brand), small televisions and tired shower rooms. I found the windows failed to fully close in a couple of the rooms Ieading to some drafts and road traffic noise through the night. The housekeeping wouldn't cease bothering me in the morning regardless of whether the door was locked from the inside (a sure sign that I am still in and not checked out) so remember to put out the 'do not disturb' hanger if you don't want waking up and pestering well before check out time. The breakfast, although complimentary, I found very basic and worth avoiding. I think it does its job as a cheap hotel in a good location for road links around the Midlands but I should not hurry back for anything but a quick business stop off should I be in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

I have taken note of your feedback and passed onto the relevant departments. We appreciate all feedback as this helps us to review and improve our standards where needed.

The hotel does offer a complimentary Express Start Breakfast which includes a selection of pastries, fruits, cereals and yoghurts. We also offer Sausages, Baked Beans and scrambled eggs which are a great start to the cold mornings.

We hope that should your travels bring you back to Lichfield in the near future that you choose to come and stay with us again. Remember to book direct for the Best Available Rates!

Kindest Regards



Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Address: Wall Island Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lichfield 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure guest. All guestrooms offer WiFi Internet Access, Free Express Breakfast, power showers and tea and coffee making facilities. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents room. Hotel offers a residents bar which shows the latest sports on Sky TV. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel lies within the midlands high speed road connections to the whole of the UK via the M6 Toll, M42, A5 and the A38 with the National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham City Centre being only 20 minutes away. Airports are easy to access with Birmingham International Airport only 20 minutes away and Nottingham East Midlands Airport 40 minutes drive away. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to attend the attractions nearby such as Drayton Manor Theme Park, Lichfield Cathedral, National Memorial Arboretum, Wall Roman Site and Alton Towers. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel also makes an ideal base if you are visiting local businesses such as Nextiraone, Pink Homeloans, Faurecia or Tesco. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Hotel Lichfield
Holiday Inn Lichfield
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.