We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Johns House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lichfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Johns House
St John Street, Lichfield WS13 6PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Lichfield B&B and Inns
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently stayed here whilst one of our close friends was getting married in the centre of Lichfield and it was brilliant. It's a great location for a start, but nothing was too much trouble for the owners, and the room was beautifully clean both when we arrived and in between the two nights we stayed. The breakfast in particular was lovely and they really took pride in the quality and presentation too - which I loved! Even though further developments were going on to the property, we didn't even notice, and I'm sure when it's finished the place will be even more of a gem. Particular thanks to Dan who has sent my camera cable that I left there by mistake! Excellent service, thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
79
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I can't believe it's taken me so long to write this review but my family and friends stayed here for 2 nights for my wedding on the 9th and 10th of August and we were the first guests for the new owners Dan and Ellie and I can't praise them enough.

We arrived early and were allowed into our rooms, the rooms are stunning and the fresh milk and quality coffee is a welcomed touch!
My mother forgot some things at home and Ellie offered to go into the town and get the things she forgot which was very kind of her.

The BREAKFAST! Wow. Quality at its best. The apricots were yum!

Nothing was to much trouble for Dan and Ellie and I would like to thank them for making our stay so wonderful on such an important day!!

We will be returning on our aniversary for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a mid week stay to go to a music event in Lichfield in July/Aug and came across St Johns House, booked for the one night and stayed in Teggy's room.. Dan was a star in the morning as due to overindulging in alcoholic beverages he kindly brought us up a breakfast tray which hit the spot. Lovely quiet courtyard in the centre of Lichfield. Rooms are of a very high standard and brilliant coffee in the room. Would not hesitate in recommending to anyone visiting Lichfield. Dan and Ellie are excellent hosts and good luck with the expansion. K W

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This has been taken over from Johan and the new owners are BRILLIANT - just like Yohann was!

We were marginally concerned that with new owners it might not be quite as good but it was and more... Cant wait to find a reason to go back.

Elizabeth and Alan Jackson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

fantastic hotel, friendly staff, AMAZING breakfast and the shower was pretty good too!!! We had the Garden Terrace room which was lovely. Loved the fresh milk in the fridge for tea and coffee- great touch. Thanks for a great stay. Darren & Charlie Hearne

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at St Johns House as a base to visit the National Memorial Arboretum and other places around Lichfield. What an amazing choice we made, having read previous reviews we were expecting similar treatment and we got it. What can one say to improve on perfection, the new owners have certainly maintained the standards set by Johan the previous owner. We can only reiterate the views of previous visitors that this a five star establishment that would be difficult to improve on. Dan and Elly (new owners) are in the throes of a major refurbishment of the main house and provision of a major car park at the premises. We found them welcoming and enthusiastic about their new business and will certainly recommend them to our friends and readers of this review. The breakfast menu would put many major hotels to shame with a varied selection of food to cater for all tastes. Try the full english home cured bacon, sausages, you will not need much for lunch

Room Tip: Any room in the old stables, they all have similar facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Cooked breakfast was outstanding. And the good news is that they are expanding. I would highly recommend this place.
Good pub round the corner (the Jockey).
Comfy bed, nice bathroom, very friendly. Er, there's not much more to say. Cine and stay here. Am I up to 200 characters yet?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Johns House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns House

Address: St John Street, Lichfield WS13 6PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II* listed stables house our 5 Star luxury bedrooms all with hand made Vi-Spring beds. Breakfast is taken across the courtyard in the dining room of historic St. Johns House. 100 metres from The Garrick theatre and little more to all of Lichfields charms. Our breakfasts are becoming legendry only equalled by our service. St. Johns House... Traditionally Luxurious. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Johns House Lichfield, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Johns House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St Johns House to your Saves list