We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“******* HIGHLY RECOMMENDED*******” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mousehole

The Mousehole
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Staffordshire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mousehole
Cotton Lane, ST10 3DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 hotels in Staffordshire
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“******* HIGHLY RECOMMENDED*******”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in this B&B while visiting Alton Towers. We had been travelling for about 10 hours by the time we arrived, we were getting quite tired and it was already dark - hence we got lost. I rang the B&B and they gave us excellent directions - we were there in about 2 mins. We were unfortunate to get a puncture less than a mile from the accommodation and when we arrived the owner helped my boyfriend to change it, even though it was cold and dark outside. Once we got inside, I can honestly say - our room was top notch! The bed was very comfortable, the decor was fantastic, spacious room, fine size tv, fresh milk for the cuppa tea - none of the UHT rubbish you get nowadays in other hotels/ b&bs. There was no noise from passing traffic, room temperature was perfect. We had the most relaxing nights sleep after a very long day. Breakfast the following morning was just lovely and there was a good selection of cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit as well as the traditional English breakfast. If I was going back to the area or Alton Towers again, I would check in here again rather than staying in the Alton Towers hotels - its only about 2-3 mins drive from the theme park. We came away so refreshed. Thanks a million to both the owners - they are doing a fantastic job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south lakes
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

After reading some reviews i was a bit scared incase we got lost,but our sat nav found it and took us right to the door. We used the Mousehole after a hard day at Alton Towers, and really did have a great nights sleep. Woke very refreshed and in need of a good breakfast. We got one. Got to say the owners were very friendly and welcoming. Taking time to tell let us know the best places for an evening meal.
I love a good deal and for the price we got a great one. We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A lovely little b&b, we were aprehensive as we drove down the road to find this place, but when we arrived knew we had made the right choice, it is a lovely little place to stay over and very convenient for Alton towers, we had a great nights sleep and breakfast was lovely, also the price was very reasonable, we will stay again if we ever need to stay Ipin the area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

Driving down Cotton Lane you wonder when it will ever end, but situated about a mile down the lane you will find the wonderful Mousehole Home, I say home because that's how it makes you feel. In the most idillic part of the Staffordshire moorland and only 5 minutes drive from Alton Towers, its the perfect location for all, young or old. The hosts and owners Keith and Sandra make you very welcome and ensure your stay is perfect! The double en suite (blue room) was exceptionally clean and boasted original wooden beams dating back to the 17th century. Everything was so quaint and traditionally English, including the hearty breakfast. Excellent value for money. Will definately return. Thank you! Jamie and Family, Nottinghamshire

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed here for one night after a day trip to Alton Towers. The room was great value for money. Also very clean. The breakfast was fantastic- very fresh and plenty of it. A nice retreat after a busy day!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

booked this b and b at last minute for our friends wedding in Staffordshire.

the b and b was better then expected the room was very clean in a nice location next to Alton Towers.
the owners were more then friendly excellent breakfast would highly reconmend if trying to find a b n b next to alton towers

  • Liked — clean room and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

After a very frustrating weekend trying to find a B and B or anywhere to stay less than half an hour away from Alton Towers we came across this little gem. I must admit when I found out there were vaccancies I was a little worried but the pictures on the website re-assured me somewhat.
We arrrive about 9.30pm Saturday night after getting lost (entirely our own fault!). There are only 2 guest rooms and you enter via the guest reception and then up a staircase and the rooms are next to each other. Keith and Sandra are just lovely and afer showing us the rooms and answering our questions about local pubs etc left us to it. We could come and go as we please and had our own guest entrance key which was good.
The rooms are spotless- and I mean spotless- i am fussy and I was more than happy! There is just something very homely about this place- the beams, the antique-y feel makes you feel very welcome. We went with couple so got to nosey in both rooms- the blue one is slightly larger but both are en-suite. The breakfasts were also lovely! Really can't fault this B and B and will def go back soon!

  • Liked — the location, the owners, the rooms and food!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mousehole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mousehole

Address: Cotton Lane, ST10 3DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 hotels in Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mousehole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mousehole to your Saves list