We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashford House
119 Portway, Wells BA5 2BR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Wells B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Many years since we have been to Wells and little has changed in the "City" apart from the standard of accommodation. This is simply a great place to stay within 5 mins walk of the centre and Cathedral. Jane is a great host with amazing energy and keeps this place running like clock work. Our bed was comfortable, the room reasonably spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious and served promptly. Would definitely stay again (which not something I often say!)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
41
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

If your looking for a B+B in wells look no further this is the one .The place is spotless and the breakfast is fantastic. Jane couldnt have been more helpful.Everything was first class

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Travelled down to Wells on the spur of the moment with no where booked to stay. Saw the sign for Ashford House and ended up stopping one night. Jayne was the perfect host
explained everything about Wells places to eat out etc. The room was spotlessly clean complete with flat screen T.V and power shower! Breakfast was wonderful with a great choice.
I would certainly recommend a stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We recently spent two nights at Ashford House en route to Devon and Cornwall and we couldn't have picked a better place. We had on site parking, a lovely room, everywhere was spotlessly clean, breakfast was wonderful and Jayne was really helpful. From now on, we've decided no more long drives down to Devon and Cornwall. Instead we have a reason to spend time en route at Wells and Ashford House for a couple of days as we love them both. Stay with Jayne and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Due to work, I was a regular guest at Ashford house for the best part of a year. I had tried other B&Bs in the area before deciding on Ashford house as the place for me.

Jayne and Frank are very hostpitable and the place was consistenly run to a very high standard. One of their rooms is in a separate annex to the house with it's own bathroom. If you like your privacy, that's the one for you.

The place is strolling distance into Wells with off road parking for your car. The rooms are spotless and you've got every choice you could wish for when it comes to breakfast.

Ashford House gets a hearty recommendation from me.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed in Ashford House for three nights in March 2010. One of the reasons for choosing this particular B and B was the availability of a Sitting room for guest use, which is a great advantage after a full day exploring in the area. We were not disappointed as the Sitting rom was warm, comfortable and delightfully furnished, and a most relaxing rereat after busy days.Our Bedroom was gleamingly clean, with an amazing bed and a perfect en-suite. The welcome, the fun and the feeling of visiting good friends really made our stay, however the breakfasts, served in the beautiful dining room overlooking the garden, was unbelieveable. The best ever in a B and B. A choice of cereals, fruit and juice followed by a delicious cooked "English" and crispy toast-hard to find as often soggy in many hotels and B and Bs.All in all a great experience at a realistic cost. Thank you Jayne, we will be back. David Arkley and Stuart Ross ,Helen's Bay ,Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I have just realised that I forgot to review this back in September 2009 (thought I did but apparently not - oops).

We had a wonderful time, lovely accommodation and breakfast, great location for a wonder into Wells and to drive further afield. Jane was exceptionally helpful and gave us tourist tips for things to do and scenic drives etc. What a beautiful part of the world this.

We would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford House

Address: 119 Portway, Wells BA5 2BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large detached house. A warm welcome and crisp white bed linen ensure an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Within ten minute stroll of the magnificent Wells Cathedral and city centre we are an ideal base to explore the many attractions. Glastonbury Tor, Bath, Wookey Hole Caves, Cheddar Gorge, Longleat Wildlife Park and the Mendip Hills are all within 35 minutes drive. Private off street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashford House Hotel Wells
Ashford House Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ashford House to your Saves list