We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem in Wells” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andre's Cafe

Andre's Cafe
84 High street, Wells BA5 2AJ, England
01749677416
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little Gem in Wells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant by chance. We were on the way to a wedding and needed food. We stopped for lunch and the special was fantastic. We went back the next day for breakfast and it was also really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    45
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been here a couple of times now, on each occasion have been greeted by friendly staff and the food, (cooked breakfast) was very well prepared and presented.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Make sure you have the dark haired waitress!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The food was excellent and we really enjoyed it. The dark haired waitress took our order and was very pleasant. The dyed hair waitress threw our coffees on the table. The other waitress brought our lunch thankfully. The dyed hair waitress ignored us when we wanted to pay. It would have been easier to walk out than pay! Because she knew we were waiting even though the other waitress had asked her to help us she deliberately went to three other tables first. Then was making gestures to the chef about us. Real shame!! Apart from the coffee incident we had enjoyed our lunch, but we left angry that we had spent our money there! She certainly left a bad taste and we will not be returning when she is there. At no point were we rude or demanding just patient and annoyed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stunning food, great atmosphere, excellent - friendly staff. If you are looking for one of the best local chef's (and team) creating a dining experience from local produce, that you will never forget, then visit Andre's. I also recently had the pleasure of attending one of Andre's infamous theme nights. His fish night was outstanding, not only stunning food, but a fantastic atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fish Night Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Fish evenings are Andres speciality . Very good value for money. Service is always personnel with local loyal staff who work as a great team. Joe the chef enjoys Andres passion for food and service. The fish nights are usually oversubscribed so my advice is always book early.
Looking forward to the next one

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Cafe also viewed

Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Andre's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andre's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.