We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Spot

Old Spot
12 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2SE, England
+44 (0)1749 689099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 78 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The reviews we read on Trip Advisor for this restaurant, were not that inspiring, but we thought lets try the food and make our own judgements. We would recommend the food, we had an excellent meal, and equally fabulous desert, together with a house wine that complimented the well cooked and presented food. The staff were courteous and attentive. Would recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    69
    23
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

great food with very good service. You pay for what you get ,so not cheap food but well worth the price asked. Looking forward to another visit soon' great place for a special meal out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“An 'Old Spot' Of Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We discovered this 'eatery' by chance one evening while strolling around the lovely streets of this city. A great place for a meal when in Wells....food and wine was excellent, and service very friendly and attentive! we will be back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambience, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Not much I can say that adds to the above. I enjoyed it, oh yes the wine was great too! Really good to find a small business that is welcoming, has good food and helpful staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A true gem of a restaurant with an excellent chef at the helm. I enjoyed some excellent Salmon and the panna cotta was a lovely trembling mound of deliciousness!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Spot also viewed

 

Been to Old Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.