We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 course taster menu - blown away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodfellows

Goodfellows
5 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RR, England
+44 (0)1749 673866
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodfellows is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 75 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $86 - $86
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“6 course taster menu - blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Goodfellows was a destination for a celebration. travelling the 30 odd miles from Bristol we checked into the Swan Hotel and spent a couple of pleasant hours in wells. We arrived at Goodfellows, for 8.30. and were pleased to be seated near the open kitchen, which was fantastic, are own chefs table. To see and smell the food, created right next to us was fantastic, and total respect to the team working under the chefs guidance, under a spotlight - all communication professional and descreet. so slick. We were guided through our taster menu through gaspacho, salmon, crevette, sea bass, scallops and dessert, by our host, nothing was too much trouble. Effortless and natural, our 3 hours of gastronomic delight was the best experience for many years. thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    50
    17
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had the tasting menu, which was £58 per head, but it was truly amazing. We started with gazpacho with crayfish tails, then an exquisite salmon ballotine with spice cous cous; grilled prawn, brill and then scallops with pancetta. Finished with an iced parfait with strawberries and toasted almonds. Adam Fellows, owner and head chef creates beautiful dishes in front of you - wholeheartedly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Service was excellent and the hake was out of this world. This is a great little place to eat.. My crayfish salad was tasty and I loved the cheesecake dessert and the chocolate one! We split two in half. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good food but very slow service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have eaten in Goodfellows on many occasions and went for lunch yesterday with friends. There is a choice of set price lunch time menus all interesting, we chose different dishes and all were most enjoyable served with a glass of very drinkable S/Blanc. The pudding pastries are exceptional, don't miss them

However, we arrived before 1pm, after almost 15 minutes not even a menu or any attention. My wife went to pick up menu and front of house man said he'd be over. Almost 15 minutes later still no attention whatever. I went up and explained almost half hour and not even a drink, he said he would be over soon, no apologies (in the wrong job ?) . Good food but need to improve service Goodfellows.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“very nearly perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is superb at any time of the day. Breakfasts, set lunch (which is excellent value) and evening meals. Relaxed, attentive staff and superb food - it is difficult to find fault. This French restuarant cafe, offers home-made bread, cakes to die for and beautiful fish dishes that change daily. It is not, however just a seafood eatery - the smell of fish does not permeate the other dishes. There is the more formal part of Goodfellows, but I like the cafe where you can have the full menu anyway. Carping criticism... the free wine with lunch menu is really a little small - but then again that may be a good thing and you can always order more....You need to book on market day and on Saturday. Go for the fish of the day too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodfellows also viewed

 

Been to Goodfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodfellows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.