We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nearly perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodfellows

Goodfellows
5 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RR, England
+44 (0)1749 673866
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodfellows is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 75 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $86 - $86
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“very nearly perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is superb at any time of the day. Breakfasts, set lunch (which is excellent value) and evening meals. Relaxed, attentive staff and superb food - it is difficult to find fault. This French restuarant cafe, offers home-made bread, cakes to die for and beautiful fish dishes that change daily. It is not, however just a seafood eatery - the smell of fish does not permeate the other dishes. There is the more formal part of Goodfellows, but I like the cafe where you can have the full menu anyway. Carping criticism... the free wine with lunch menu is really a little small - but then again that may be a good thing and you can always order more....You need to book on market day and on Saturday. Go for the fish of the day too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    50
    17
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Goodfellows - good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Everything we had - squid, gaspacho, skate and selection of fish - was all absolutely delicious. Will be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Handy Little Good Value Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My Wife had previously visited Goodfellows with a friend when visiting Wells and wanted me to sample the food. It is quite small inside with limited seating but they seem to have an overflow area which I did not visit. For £10 you can get a very tasty snack lunch with a glass of wine. My choice was fish cake with a sweet chilli sauce and salad. Great fresh tasty fishcake, not the round stodgy potato cake you sometimes are offered. I did have a glass of sparkling water because I was going to be driving a little later but the wine my wife was served (red) was a good wine. You choose your own sweet from a chilled counter, they all looked good and tasty, my choice was a Danish Pastry which was excellent. I have no reservations about recommending Goodfellows for somewhere to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value & quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been to Goodfellows in Wells twice for an evening meal and numerous times for one of their fabulous set lunches. The service is always excellent and food freshly prepared, well presented and great value for money. I visited last Saturday 22nd June with a friend for lunch and for £10 had a gorgeous goats cheese, olive and sundried tomato quiche with rocket and shaved parmesan with a glass of wine and one of their delicious homemade desserts from the chiller for after - bargain. They also offer a £12 menu and a more substantial hot menu if you are really hungry. Have never had difficulty getting a table and plan to go again next time we are in Wells.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizzie121
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had lunch at the Sadler Street Cafe and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute.

Staff were perfectly attentive.

The food was excellent.

The atmosphere was fun. Lots of very interesting conversations going on around me.

I will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodfellows also viewed

 

Been to Goodfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodfellows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.