We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a big smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub

The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub
1 St Thomas Street | Wells,Somerset, Wells BA5 2UU, England
+44 (0)1749 672317
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 75 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service with a big smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very good value and very good service. It would easily beat some so called top end restaurants in Wells for the food quality and there was plenty of it.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    73
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! - Best meal out for a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I went to the Fountain a few times over December as I have friends in Wells. I must admit, I don't like to go anywhere else for food now! Staff are all very friendly and helpful, it is always run efficiently (Even in the busy moment, we can still expect to receive food in a timely manner and get our drinks order quicker than most other places with waited tables). It is a credit to the staff who manage the bar and waiting the tables. I never see anyone waiting too long at the bar or table!

As for the food. Amazing! There is a nice selection of meals to enjoy and leaves you with a very satisfying feeling after eating!

Drink selection is good to. I love my ale so had a good choice of Doombar or Butcome (Two very good drinks). Price is average, I would say. No wetherspoon prices but then again, this is freshly cooked food!

I am looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best pub food around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Living only two miles away my wife and I have eaten a dozen or so times at this restaurant in the last year. Always very good. The service could not be friendlier or more helpful. There is a wide range of dishes and the ones we have tried have all been excellent. In winter the roaring fire adds to the ambiance.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“High Quality Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had a first rate pub meal here, fish and chips and steak and chips both excellent. The dessert somewhat less so, but still all right. A nice friendly place, service is slow but worth waiting for. I'd say stick to the simpler things on the menu and you'll have a wonderful time. We certainly did. The ambiance is quite civilised for a pub, but not snooty, just country and nice.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“This is the place for a roaring fire, a warm welcome, great food & well kept Real Ale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Now that the Globe Inn has closed down, and Manny is no longer the Landlord, The Fountain is the place that discerning locals to go now, and we have followed. The Sharp's Doombar Ale (one of my favourite Real Ales) is very well kept here, and it tastes as good as it looks. The food is excellent too and a bit different. For example, all their meat - Beef, Pork & Lamb, comes from a local Supplier with a great reputation for consistently high quality called "Priddy Good" (and it is Pretty Good too!). The Village of Priddy is only a few miles away, and these people have been supplying first class meat for over 5 generations, and you can taste it - try the "Priddy Good" sausages - fabulous! The menu also features a "Somerset Smokie" which is various smoked fish with cheese and covered with mashed potato, (echoing the trade routes of fish from the sea, and cheese from the land, meeting in Somerset). A roaring wood fire made from logs and stain glass tops to the windows, depicting bunches of grapes competes the welcoming picture. Boxer's Restaurant is basically a large room upstairs in the pub, with the same menu as downstairs, which can be hired out for Parties, Weddings etc. Its name comes (apparently) from the illegal bare-knuckle fights that used to be held there, many years ago. Don’t sit at the back of the Bar, on the left hand side near the door to the upstairs room, as there is a fearsome draft there in the Winter.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub also viewed

Wells, Somerset
 
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.