We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considerate and welcoming landlady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherston Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sherston Inn to your Saves list
The Sherston Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Priory Road, Wells BA5 1 SU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Wells B&B and Inns
Penshurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Considerate and welcoming landlady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Been meaning to write this for a while.
The wake for a family member was held at the Sherston Inn.
Despite a bitterly cold day, a warm atmosphere, good food and service, with an attentive and friendly landlady, despite our personal circumstances.
Heartily recommend you support this establishment.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley a, Owner at The Sherston Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I hope that you & your family are keeping well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went in on the Bank Holiday Monday for an early evening meal. There were three adults and five kids. At first, there wasn't a table free but the manager did really well to find us a large table. The food was hot, well prepared and tasty. Two of our party loved the steak and ale pie. I must say, the burger was cooked perfectly. A cut above normal pub food.

The service was excellent. OK, it wasn't massively busy but professional, friendly and efficient all the same.

Value for money: pretty good. The inside of the pub was pretty welcoming too, especially the main part. Nice garden too.

I would recommend the Sherston Inn.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wells
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Had been meaning to stop by the Sherston since it had been taken over and regret not going sooner. Lovely atmosphere and decor. Food was lovely and very well priced. I especially enjoyed the puddings, the chocolate torte was to die for! Going back tomorrow!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our recent visit to Wells introduced us to this Pub. We were very satisfied with the experience and would definitely visit again. Very good value and loved the décor. It was smart and welcoming and very comfortable. In particular we felt the landlord and landlady were very pleasant. Huge helpings!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A wonderful Pub run by a very nice couple. The facility was recently renovated which means that our upstairs rooms were clean and comfortable with modern facilities. We were the only guests that night as it was early spring. We had a delicious full English breakfast in the pub and enjoyed having a nice talk with the proprietors while admiring the nicely designed pub interior. Our one night stay was reasonable priced. Don't miss seeing the Wells Cathedral while there. It's within walking distance from the Inn.

Room Tip: Best to ask for room not located on the street and road noice was quiet loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I were driving away from Ham Wall RSPB on Sunday evening and decided to head in the direction of Wells in order to find somewhere to stay that night. Upon entering Wells from the south we drove past the Sherston Inn and noticed it advertised rooms and good food so we stopped and enquired. A double room including breakfast for £60 turned out to be great value but also of good quality. Our evening meal with accompanying wine and cider was good pub food and reasonably priced. The room was comfortable and clean. The full English breakfast was well prepared with quality ingredients and included fried bread and black pudding - a proper start to the day! All staff were very friendly and we were able to leave our car parked at the pub whilst we toured the Cathedral - a real bonus as parking is limited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Sherston to brake up our journey from south to North and im glad we stopped. The pub was welcoming, the food was great (best onion rings i have ever had!) and the accomodation was really comfortable. Landlord Andy and Landlady Lesley were perfect hosts! We'll definately return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sherston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherston Inn

Address: Priory Road, Wells BA5 1 SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sherston Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sherston is a fully licensed bar & restaurant offering fresh locally sourced homecooked food. As well as our large bar & restaurant, we have a fantastic walled beer garden & childrens play area which is great for families. Our guest rooms have all been recently refurbished and offer a very comfortable and relaxing stay offering tv and beverages. There is wheelchair access to the bars, garden & skittle alley & full disabled toilet but accommodation is not suitable for those in a wheelchair.We also have a dartboard & refurbished Skittle Alley with Cloud WiFi which is ideal for training events as well as parties & functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Sherston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherston Inn Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.