We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Renovated Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherston Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sherston Inn to your Saves list
The Sherston Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Priory Road, Wells BA5 1 SU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Wells B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A wonderful Pub run by a very nice couple. The facility was recently renovated which means that our upstairs rooms were clean and comfortable with modern facilities. We were the only guests that night as it was early spring. We had a delicious full English breakfast in the pub and enjoyed having a nice talk with the proprietors while admiring the nicely designed pub interior. Our one night stay was reasonable priced. Don't miss seeing the Wells Cathedral while there. It's within walking distance from the Inn.

Room Tip: Best to ask for room not located on the street and road noice was quiet loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I were driving away from Ham Wall RSPB on Sunday evening and decided to head in the direction of Wells in order to find somewhere to stay that night. Upon entering Wells from the south we drove past the Sherston Inn and noticed it advertised rooms and good food so we stopped and enquired. A double room including breakfast for £60 turned out to be great value but also of good quality. Our evening meal with accompanying wine and cider was good pub food and reasonably priced. The room was comfortable and clean. The full English breakfast was well prepared with quality ingredients and included fried bread and black pudding - a proper start to the day! All staff were very friendly and we were able to leave our car parked at the pub whilst we toured the Cathedral - a real bonus as parking is limited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Sherston to brake up our journey from south to North and im glad we stopped. The pub was welcoming, the food was great (best onion rings i have ever had!) and the accomodation was really comfortable. Landlord Andy and Landlady Lesley were perfect hosts! We'll definately return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I understand that the sherston has just had a referb. Only opened again this week, have read some of the reviews and i think things have changed greatly. We ate there on sunday evening 24th feb 13, we all found it to be excellent, could not fault it, friendly staff. Give it a try as i said things seem to have improved greatly !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Took my son in on a weekend for something to eat as it was his birthday, he ordered the salmon at £8.00 something, could not even touch it Salmon smelt awful!! green beans so dark and mash potato was grey!! it was the worst meal I have ever seen!!! should of complained but had already paid and it was so bad was embarrassing that it was even allowed out of a kitchen in this country!!!!! Don't ever go there to eat!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASTONBURY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We live locally and regularly eat out in Wells. We stopped at the Sherston as we had not been there for some years and had heard it had had a refurb, to have a drink and check out the restaurant. As we walked in the interior was very smart with leather sofas in one corner, so we ordered a drink and sat down. We were then forced to listen to young man in a hi -vis jacket, talking very loudly on his mobile, he seemed very proud that he was no longer on tag! from our seat we could see through to the restaurant, there were two pushchairs parked right in the middle and two young mums with very small babies wandering around (one of which was crying, probably because he/she would rather have been in bed) This was approximately eight oclock on a sturday night. We did not feel that this was an atmosphere in which we wanted to eat and left. The lady behind the bar was very pleasant, and my husband said the beer was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I took my sister and her children here during the Easter holidays. We have been here in the past and the food had been good, but understood that it was under new management so trusted that the food would have been of a similar standard. One of the draws of the pub is that it has good parking with a large garden and a play area for the children. On arrival the menu although much more narrow than before appeared to represent very good value for money. What arrived at our table was representative of not very good value for money. I had a vegetarian shephereds pie, what I got was a microwaved/nuked top of a pie with nothing underneath it, tiny portion, very disappointing. My sister had ham and eggs, the ham was not good quality and served with tinned peas. Her children had burgers, which consisted of a huge white flour bap with a very unappetising burger in it (dry as a bone). The only saving grace was a chocolatey pudding which was lovely. The man who appeared to be in charge was quite stressed, we had a long wait for our food and I noticed the party on the next table to us had a problem with their order. However, the young man behind the bar was lovely and really friendly, thank you.
We will not be going back, under the old management although not living in Wells we would probably come to this pub 3/4 times a year. You need to focus on your customer service and the quality of your food - people would rather pay £2 or £3 more and get a quality, decent portion sized meal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sherston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherston Inn

Address: Priory Road, Wells BA5 1 SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sherston Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sherston is a fully licensed bar & restaurant offering fresh locally sourced homecooked food. As well as our large bar & restaurant, we have a fantastic walled beer garden & childrens play area which is great for families. Our guest rooms have all been recently refurbished and offer a very comfortable and relaxing stay offering tv and beverages. There is wheelchair access to the bars, garden & skittle alley & full disabled toilet but accommodation is not suitable for those in a wheelchair.We also have a dartboard & refurbished Skittle Alley with Cloud WiFi which is ideal for training events as well as parties & functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Sherston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherston Inn Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.