We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm undecided!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheppey

The Sheppey
Lower Godney, Wells BA5 1RZ, England
+44 1458 831594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Great pub with gastropub credentials, charcoal cooker from spain, very assured cooking with a twist, real ales, craft beers, local ciders, belgium beers, cocktails, great decor , artwork and drinks, it can also seat 100 people next to the river
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hmmmm undecided!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited The Sheppey one Friday lunchtime. I'm not really sure how to review this place so I'm going to bullet point good and bad points, hopefully this will be helpful!

Good:
Nice, quirky place
Funky decorations
Friendly staff
We had a table by the river
Selection of food & beer

Bad:
They had no record of our booking
Dirty highchair & table
Paper menus and only one specials menu in the whole restaurant
Food wasnt amazing, triple cooked chips were just completely oil soaked
Lots of wasps!!

So overall I would recommend as I did enjoy my visit, I'm just not really sure why. Maybe it was the lady that fainted at the end of our meal that made the visit enjoyable?! ;-) x

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    49
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I came here with my girlfriend to celebrate our anniversary and was amazed not only by the bar, the quality of service and the menu (which left us deciding for half an hour) all served by down to earth actual people who don't act to impress you. The beers were some that I haven't seen before and some pretty nifty barmen shaking up cocktails was inspiring. Please come and visit this amazing place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderful place, very thoughtful service and very warm atmosphere. booking is advised.
Very welcoming to groups and families

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went here with a group for a team dinner. The place itself is down country lanes in a small village surrounded by fields. The location is amazing, and the decor inside is relaxed and original. The menu tries to be creative and worldly, but the food is distinctly average, at least by London standards. The triple cooked chips - very soggy and tasteless. The presentation was good, but taste quite average. Maybe it was because it was a group meal and they struggled to get the same standard with so many dishes to get out.

Service was also very slow - despite having empty glasses for a long time on the table, they didn't clear or even ask if we wanted another drink. Hard to flag down the two staff on duty, who were trying to serve our big group and also like ten other tables.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food delicious atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Dropped into the sheppey for Sunday lunch today and I have to say that's everything was spot on from the service the food and the atmosphere.Delicious all round.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sheppey also viewed

Wells, Somerset
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to The Sheppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheppey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.