We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rajah Restaurant

Rajah Restaurant
5A Queen Street, Wells, England (Formerly Rajah Tandoori)
01749 673978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 75 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised with this little restaurant. It was late at night; the weather was awful, and we had a very grumpy 4 year old with us. The place looked a bit dodgy from the outside, and, essentially, it is a converted residential property. But the somewhat dodgy architecture was forgotten by the friendliness of the people and the quality of the food. No frills, good Indian cuisine. All dishes were very enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Old decor but surprising quality of food & excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

To start with yes the outside is a little dated and the stairs up to the restaurant are not the best, however we all have legs so we might as well use them!

Now walking through the entrance I was greeted very well and shown to my seat, the colour scheme was nice and warm. Now, I have been to many Indian restaurants in Bristol, which are fancy on the outside but food is mediocre and personally I think its more about charm then being flash and modern but for me it comes down to food and I wasn't disappointed as i had a chicken tikka bhuna and chicken was chunky, sauce was delicious and overall I was very impressed!

Service was very good, I wasnt rushed or pushed into ordering anything and the whole experience was magical, mainly due to the food to be honest but still the service was efficient and environment grew on me as it was warm and cosy like having a curry at home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing especially service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

It has been a while since I last eat at this restaurant but I remembered good food and friendly staff, so my hope were high. I fully appreciate that it was a Friday evening just before Christmas but I don't thing that there is ever an excuse for poor attitude/service. The staff had a slightly surly and cold attitude which when you are out dining isn't what you want. Overall the food was good, especially the breads and side dishes, although the tandoori was a disappointment and the dishes generally slightly oily. I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceptive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Don't be put off by the entrance to this restaurant. The stairs leading up to it are incredibly steep and when you reach the top it does feel as if you are stepping into someone's lounge, but the service and food are great.

All the usual favourites are on the menu plus a few more unusual dishes. Service is fast, friendly and efficient and the food really flavoursome. Although the Romna in Sadler Street in Wells has a 'smarter' feel, the service here is much more efficient and the food better value.

Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We had a take away delivered........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent the weekend in Wells and had a take away delivered on Saturday evening. Our 2 curries and rice came witinin 30 minutes. Both the person taking the order and the chap delivering were very pleasant.
The chicken pathia was nice enough as was the chilli chicken garlic masala but nothing out of ordinary. What was a surprise though was the lack of garlic and the type of chicken used. Long slim slithers as opposed to nice big chunks.
Perhaps the restaurant served food is better but somehow I doubt it.
Im spoiled by living near Chillis in St Annes Bristol - the benchmark!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rajah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rajah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.