We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rajah Restaurant

Rajah Restaurant
5A Queen Street, Wells, England (Formerly Rajah Tandoori)
01749 673978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 78 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Yummy food and lovely staff :) I've been going here for years and I have always had a high opinion of this Indian :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Went on a Sunday night at 7.30pm so I expected the restaurant to be very quiet. There was a couple there who where finishing their meal. We were promptly seated and had a very nice welcome. The menu is the usual Indian fare with some dishes I had not seen before. The staff were very friendly and attentive, brushing crumbs off the table once we had finished our poppadums. The curries (we had 3 different dishes) were all delicious and tasted very fresh (including some beautiful coriander). Side dishes were also good. Quantity, well, plenty! Peshwari nan was also a delicious item on the menu. House wine (white) was very surprisingly drinkable. Overall, a winner. It does not look much from the outside as you have to go up some stairs to the restaurant but it is well worth it. The restaurant that night also had a seemingly endless stream of people picking up take aways, obviously popular with locals. One to try again. Worth noting it is open 7 days a week.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Its not the most attractive restaurant but the food is really good, had a great takeaway tonight!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant. Food very nice and great atmosphere. Service is friendly and efficient. Overall great find

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Like a second home..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I must start with a caveat in that I live locally to The Rajah so my review is based on many visits, conversely I am very fussy about Asian food; so much rubbish is served and happily consumed by many. The Rajah is an 'Indian' of the sort that is slowly dying out, an unpretentious first floor restaurant that seats no more than a couple of dozen under the watchful eye of Ali, the owner. The food is simple, consistently good, well presented and the service meticulous.

I dine here with friends and also take my 2 small children; worth mentioning that they treat my daughters like princesses and will make a dish to the appropriate strength and size for them. My 4 year old will happily demolish a fair dish of Korma, my 9 year old gets a slightly spicier version of a Bhuna on every visit!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rajah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rajah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.