We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bekynton Brasserie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bekynton Brasserie
Market Place, Wells, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 78 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Branston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stopped in for a couple of cream teas. Found the decor and food acceptable and served by pleasant, friendly staff. In fact, senior member of staff explained it would be cheaper if we had ordered teas and cakes individually, which saved me a couple of quid (always a bonus). On reading other reviews I was taken aback by the low gradings given. Next time will try a cooked meal - maybe need to change my mind then.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly old fashioned cafe, clueless staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went in here because our favourite haunt in Wells is temporarily closed. Has cakes and coffee. Cakes were nice enough, but when I asked for decaff I got filter coffee and the waitress had to repeat the list of cakes as she rushed through the first time.
The place has potential with nice decor and good view across the square, but be prepared to repeat you order.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Quite hard to review this, the quality of the food was good however a "full English breakfast" consisted of 2 eggs, tomato, bacon, mushrooms & toast. For the money there just wasn't enough there, it was all cooked well yet we needed more, maybe some sausages or something to bulk it up.

The pricing is also weird its expensive for just toast then a little bit more for the bacon sandwich so you might as well go for the cooked breakfast. my husband was going to order more toast until we realised it was over £3!

Personally I dont like the fact there is a shared toilet with a towel to dry your hands (very rare nowadays to not at least have separate paper towels)

Its also quite cramped we kept getting knocked by people getting passed our table to get out.

To sum up, not bad, good quality food which was well cooked but the pricing is very odd.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“stay away from this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Food is terrible, as if a child is starting to cook for the first time. Soup tasted like dishwater, should be cream vegetable soup, but was some dark brown and bitter tasting stuff, meat was like a shoe sole, salad was just a few leaves and lumps of vegetables without any dressing, fish was tasteless. Avoid this restaurant if you can, although it looks quite tempting just near the little archway on the square.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Dont waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place is well over priced - I has a prawn salad and was £8.95!! Its such a shame as the location is good and could be a lovely place. Eat somewhere else!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bekynton Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Bekynton Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bekynton Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.