We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Beautiful Saturday lunch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Good Earth

The Good Earth
4 Priory Road, Wells BA5 1SY, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Mendip Hills Somerset
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Another Beautiful Saturday lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Having likes the Good Earth's facebook page, I have noticed what I can only describe as daily food porn [Dish of the day Photos] and have daily wanted to be able to go to Wells to visit. Sadly I work too far away to be a daily customer but The occasional Saturday is utter bliss. Wonderful veggie choices, hubby had the Chilli and loved it, I had pizza and salad [so want the recipes for all your salads] and my daughter quiche and salad. I have spent 50 years avoiding beetroot as I don't like it but hubby forgot and had the beetroot and lentil salad put on my plate, its was amazing!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Popped in here for lunch when visiting wells. The food was delicious with decent portion sizes. Good variety of vegetarian and vegan choices. Coffee very nice. Relaxed atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stopped by here on basis of trip advisor comments. Not disappointed. Very good meal for two, very filling!!! This is a self service counter restaurant, so you will need to secure a table first if its busy

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Consistently Good Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I've eaten at the Good Earth regularly since moving to Wells last year & always enjoyed the experience. A tasty chilli today thank you and I like the new coffee loyalty card.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I went to The Good Earth solely on reviews and because it was a vegetarian eatery. The lentil salad was good as well as the tomato salad. The carrot and ? Salad was ok but over powered by coriander. The quiche was too salty to eat and upon complaining to 2 staff members was not offered replacement or refund. The coffee was very good but served in brown mugs.....not good. Most people like white insides to make sure they have been cleaned. Really disappointed and would have really liked to have "found a place". The food is not 1 star but failing to satisfy a customer leads to this terrible review.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Owner at The Good Earth, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. We appreciate all feedback as it keeps us on our toes and ensures we don't make the same mistake twice!

I would like to use this opportunity to comment on some of the things you experienced and hopefully put yours and others mind at ease about the commitment and passion we have for what we do, not just the food, but the whole Good Earth experience.

Our quiche is a long standing and popular part of our offering which you said was too salty. On the day you visited, the flavour was 'Three Cheese'. It was made from scratch that morning. We add absolutely zero salt to the quiche and never have done. Instead we allow the local mature cheddar to season the quiche naturally. I can only think that the addition of feta and brie may have been a bit much for your taste in this instance. This is completely understandable and your criticism leads me to believe that this flavour may not be for everyone, but until today it has been a popular choice for many, many years.

I usually have no hesitation to offer a refund or replacement if a customer is not satisfied. On this occasion, As you had eaten a substantial amount on your plate it did not instantly occur to me to offer. I now feel that I should have and for that I apologise.

The Carrot, Fennel and Coriander Salad you mentioned, again made from scratch that morning, was made using only fresh ingredients. The coriander you could taste was meant to be there, It's a bold salad which needs big flavour to balance the fennel which can be over-powering on its own. We love this salad and I am really sorry that you did not. We will of course be even more careful to scrutinise this one before we put it out again.

The brown mugs you mentioned are handmade by a local potter and have been a part of The Good Earth for nearly 30 years...a familiar symbol of our heritage to many regulars. We know they are not for everyone and you should have been offered the option of a classic, white coffee cup. In this instance, it appears you were not given this option, we have now emphasised the importance of this to all our staff so new visitors do not experience the same issue as you.

Thank you for the positives you did pick up on. We're proud of the quality of our coffee and glad you recognised it, a lot of thought goes into all our salads and I really appreciate your positive comments on the other's that you tried.

I urge you to try us again next time you are in the area, We really do aim to please, it's an obsession. Our entire menu changes every single day and you will never see the same thing twice in one week. This is not easy to achieve but its what we do because we want to be the best, I stand my all our recent positive reviews as testament to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Good Earth also viewed

Wells, Somerset

Been to The Good Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Good Earth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.