We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden wonder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beryl B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beryl B & B to your Saves list
Beryl B & B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hawkers Ln., Wells BA5 3JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A hidden wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed one night ,first saw the approach and thought what are we going to?,once into the grounds its a pure joy,manor house stuffed full of antiques,a wonderful lady of the house,typically english and great fun[Holly i believe] if you have a need to go to wells,stay here,you are about three quarters of a mile outside but thats nice,wells town is sometimes a bit "much",the breakfast was excellent,we stayed in the "wing" nice and private,i would return purely to stay in this B&B,really a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Just go its a great bit of england,holly and the house i mean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
99
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The August Bank holiday felt like winter, but we had a warm welcome at Beryl. It is the 3rd time we have stayed here, in the same room. We stay in the Winter room, with no bath, shower & toilet only. The shower is a little weak in this bathroom, but it is reflected in the price. There is a lovely big walk in wardrobe with a light and full length mirror. I think the dormer window is broken as I couldn't close it properly.
Next door to our room is a kitchen. A fridge with fresh milk. Washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and ironing board. We used the washing machine during tis stay, what a handy idea in a B&B.
Breakfast is excellent, one of the best I ever had, well best in the UK, only the Hyatt in Trinidad & 31 in Dublin match up.
Free Wifi and a swimming pool.
Lovely lounge area to sit and read or meet with friends, an honesty bar. It's better than a lot of hotels I've stayed in.
If we ever come back to Somerset, we will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Booked a room on the spur of the moment as a romantic get away one Friday night. Trip advisor of late has posted some questionable reviews. I can whole heartedly say this is not the case with the Beryl. It is a wonderful place to stay, quintessentially English, comfy beds, crisp linen, some lovely nooks and crannys to look around along with beautiful gardens. You get a wonderful breakfast in the morning and i strongly recommend you try the chocoloate Guinness cake at afternoon tea - best cake ever. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We chose this B&B as being relatively near to Cheddar Gorge and because the reviews made it seem quite quirky and different... and because it had cats!!!!

It more than lived up to our expectations. You are greeted with tea and cake (very good cake according to Rachael) and shortly after a cat turned up for a cuddle. The room we stayed in was lovely with a beautiful deep bath and a few nice toiletries. There are several living rooms in the B&B with an oldy worldy feel that celebrates it's history. Grounds were amazing with lots of nice touches and there was also an outdoor swimming pool which was fine for August and after a predictable cold shock as you got in you soon warmed up.

Owner/staff were friendly and helpful and we were well looked after with a good breakfast.

Aside from Cheddar Gorge the 'City' of Wells is only a five minute drive and has a lot of character to it- currently they have a swans exhibition scattered across the town with swan statues painted out in different colours. Although a city it is very much like a small town or village and has plenty of places to eat and shop. We only had time to see it at night when we went for evening meal but it looked pretty and seemed like there would have been a fair bit to do there, certainly plenty of pottering on offer.

The B&B is not cheap- we paid £120 and many rooms were £150 but was well worth it for a treat. Obviously you could probably get a very posh hotel with spa facilities at that price but the character of the place makes it worth it and of course you never see cats in posh hotels!!!

We would recommend it to anyone who wants something a little bit different and a taste of what a small part of England was once like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

A beautiful Georgian mansion with wonderful, friendly hosts. We stayed in the Autumn room, which was lovely. Upon arrival we were offed tea and homemade cake!!! There is a lounge area where there is an honesty bar system, and it is a lovely place to relax before or after dinner. Breakfast was delicious and the grounds are worth a walk around.

Room Tip: I'm confident any of the rooms would be worth staying in! As mentioned we stayed in the Autumn r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Good hotel just outside the town which benefits from its spectacular views. The rooms are very good and the breakfast excellant. The owner seems to try to keep it very personal and friendly. The gardens are all well presented and there is sufficient parking space. The drinks are on a trust basis, therefore, you write down what you have had and pay when you go.

Room Tip: The room we stayed overlooked the City and Cathedral, I would definetly recommend these rooms for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The beautiful grounds entice you into the magical house. Holly is the most welcoming host and obviously very passionate about her home. Our room 'Summer' was enchanting - spotlessly clean, quiet (apart from the odd sheep barring in the distance), wonderful view of the mature trees in the grounds. The pool was very refreshing in the afternoon sun, amongst the victorian walled garden.
Breakfast was a feast!.....as a vegetarian it was a joy to be served delicious, locally bought produce.
I would totally recommend 'Beryl' to anyone. Truly an amazing experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beryl B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beryl B & B

Address: Hawkers Ln., Wells BA5 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beryl B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Beryl B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beryl B & B Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beryl B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.