We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beryl B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beryl B & B to your Saves list
Beryl B & B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hawkers Ln., Wells BA5 3JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Wells B&B and Inns
Zürich
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Just lovely..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed at the Beryl because I was visiitng friends in the area of Glastonbury and what a treat! Warm welcome, comfortable rooms, lovely gardens, delicious breakfast. A place where you felt you could stay more than one night and want to spend time in. I have since recommended it to friends and colleagues and they felt exactly the same. I would go back any day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
92
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ross On Wye
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Loved the Beryl. It really is like staying as a house guest in a grand house of yesteryear. The rooms are crammed with interesting pieces of furniture, but you still get all the facilities you could want. Greeted by a member of staff (or family member of owner, we assume) who seemed really interested in whether we had "had a good journey". Offered us fresh coffee served in the drawing room when we had unpacked. Breakfast was lovely, not massed produced but freshly cooked and beatifully presented. They've even trained the well behaved and social cat to 'work' the room - spending equal amounts of time at each table during breakfast, which we loved! Only slight point - we had booked via latebookers and were quoted a price of £100, yet our room (Autumn) was priced at £85 in the printed tarrif in our room. On check-out we were charged £95, so they need to look at consistency of pricing / advertising as there seems to be some confusion. We didnt quibble, as we felt the room was worth the £100 we had been originally quoted when booking via another website, but my advice would be book direct with hotel, you probably get a better deal that way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We loved it. My partner and I stayed there for 6 nights earlier this month and couldn't have been happier. Holly the owner clearly adores the place and is so charming, she made us feel very welcome immediately. Breakfast was at round tables with other guests, we met some really interesting people. However the actual breakfast was the highlight, from the delicious fruits with yoghurt to the choice of cooked to order items, all served on beautiful bone china - a real delight. Our room overlooked the farmland and had a small dressing area, large bathroom with shower and a very comfortable four poster. And it was great to have good lighting when needed, as well as side lamps.
We felt we were leaving friends when we had to move on....
If there was a downside it would be the hike up the hill from town but taxi's were easy to get if you don't feel too energetic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed for two delightful weeks at the Beryl a short while ago (so this review is a little late). We had a huge four-poster bed overlooking the most amazing views. The bedroom was huge and decorated to a very high standard, with various interesting antiques and curiosities lying around, plenty of books; also a lovely en suite bathroom which was full of mirrors and a massive old-fashioned bath. Our room overlooked a gorgeous landscaped garden and rolling hills beyond. A charming country house hotel and extremely elegant; we felt like characters in a Jane Eyre novel - which was terrific! The public rooms were all gorgeous. We spent some time sitting in our favourite drawing room overlooking the gardens, just reading and soaking in the tranquil atmosphere. The owners were just great; two lovely ladies with very interesting life stories. Breakfast was fun. A communal affair with large tables in a room overlooking the gorgeous gardens, where it was possible to have a chat to other guests and share some stories and experiences over fresh fruit, lovely full English and great fresh coffee. Lovely walks in the surrounding area. Also, unusually (and a nice considerate gesture) there were two rooms on different floors containing microwave ovens, kitchenware, milk, extra tea and coffee, so guests could prepare their own evening meal if they prefer a night 'at home' rather than in Wells. A very happy experience in a unique and wonderful setting.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have fantastic views over the gardens and hills beyond. The four poste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roding Valley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I agree with everything Yes61 and others have said, this is a lovely place to stay. No one seems to have mentioned the two kitchens for guests to use - such a great idea. They are equipped as one would expect a kitchen to be equipped. Ironing board, iron, washing machine, fridge with fresh milk for those that don't take the little cartons of long life milk with their tea or coffee.
There are two little poodles living her and a couple of cats, my husband is NOT an animal lover, but these pets didn't worry him at all, they are so well trained.
Holly is the perfect English hostess and lady. My cousin left something in my car, and Holly is safe keeping it until my cousin can get to Wells to collect. So above and beyond the call of duty.
Lots of lovely fruit for breakfast and plenty of other choice
I've said yes to elevator, because there is a chair lift.
Internet access is free - what bliss when large corporate hotels with no character want to charge, may you get back everything in live that you give, Holly
We sat in the lounge on our first morning waiting for our friends to arrive, it's a lovely homely room that about 8 of us were using. Such a treat to be in this lovely old English home, thank you Holly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

As a discerning traveller it is always a delight to find a rare gem that still offers the gift of true hospitality. Beryl has it all.
Old world charm blended perfectly with modern day necessitates.
Holly is AMAZING and gracious and the ambiance was so inviting we stopped our travels to simply spend a day enjoying the gardens, grounds and great company.
While Beryl is about 7 miles outside of Glastonbury, it is WELL WORTH the drive to Wells to simply offer yourself a dash of true English gentry and stunning comfort! We stayed in the Master suite and our friends were in Butterfly...equally lovely.

Room Tip: The main floor has traditional grand guest suites! Try for one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Arrived in Wells after being on the South Coast of Dorset at Lyms Regis.

We looked at the traditional old Pub Hotels in Wells village and decided to drive the 1km out of Wells to investigate Beryl's which had received an 'Editors Choice' in Lonely Planet.

The B&B is a 19th Century mansion sited on about 12 acres in the hills surrounding Wells. It is a spectacular property that is in the loving care of the owners. The standard of the accommodation is that of far more expensive establishments, it is first class. The gardens surrounding the mansion lend a tranquility and style to a most amazing property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beryl B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beryl B & B

Address: Hawkers Ln., Wells BA5 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beryl B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beryl B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beryl B & B Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beryl B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.