We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Gate House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ancient Gate House Hotel to your Saves list
Ancient Gate House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   20 Sadler St, Wells BA5 2SE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 42 Wells B&B and Inns
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Value dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Firstly I have to say I have not stayed here but have eaten twice in the hotels restaurant, Rugantino. However I will probably spend a short weekend away here sometime in the future.
The first meal here was on a Saturday in March at mid day and was off the special lunch menu (£11.00 for 2 courses from memory) which despite this was of excellent quality. The resturant is quite small and has a good vibe, the tables have linen table cloths, the wait staff are polite and professional, the house wines are reasonably priced and good, the menu is imaginative.
On the stregth of our first experience my wife and I returned the other weekend and this time we ordered a la carte (the firm was paying) and the bill was still very reasonable under £80 for 3 courses and drinks. We both enjoyed our meals greatly
I have looked at some of the negative reviews and all I can say there are some who can only look for the negative, BOTH of our experiences were VERY POSITIVE, I am sure you would not be unhappy here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    18
    11
    14
See reviews for
15
80
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

After many months without a weekend off, we decided to have a romantic long-weekend away and found the perfect place to do so. My Boyfriend grew up in the area and suggested Wells (especially as we are fans of the film Hot Fuzz). After a long journey we arrived and were shown to our beautiful room, in the top of the actual Gatehouse, up winding medieval worn steps it was breathe-taking. The window overlooked the picturesque cathedral green and the room was fully equipped with television, en-suite, tea making facilities etc. but lacking some items a five-star chain hotel can provide, there is no mini-bar but probably due to the lack of space that cannot be helped in a grade listed building! The four-poster bed was a real treat that provided a different but comfortable experience that made the room extremely cosy!
The breakfast was included in the price of the room, it was situated just across the road and provided a great choice of hot and cold foods, choosing from fruit and cereals or a lovely full-English of whatever you wanted and was the best way to start the day with your choice of newspaper that was provided at the cover cost of the paper.
On the second night of our stay we decided to eat at the Italian restaurant within the Ancient Gatehouse Hotel; Rugantino. Simply the food and service was absolutely fantastic. My boyfriend had the seafood risotto, he says it was 'superb' and the best he's had. I had the trio of lamb cutlets served with a potato rosti, they were served medium as I asked and were absolutely beautiful and went perfectly with the side of vegetables and the red wine jus it was served with and would love to go back again.
Furthermore, one person in particular had a great impact on us during our stay who was Damien ( whom we presume to be the manager of some sort) who made sure we had the perfect break. He was the most polite and helpful person with a great amount of time for us and other customers.
All in all, we had a brilliant stay at the Ancient Gatehouse and were extremely surprised at the service and facilities we received and would recommend and DEFINITELY will be staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: The best room is the four-poster double room at the top of the Gatehouse with a perfect view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

For our 24th wedding anniversay we decided to book the best room in the hotel. Because the website is very ambiguous we called the hotel direct and asked whether or not the blue room with double view of the Cathedral was availabe. The website appears to label this room "Beautifully refurbished room" and shows a picture of the "blue" room alongside. After discussing our requirements the hotel person said that if we booked that room on the website we would obtain the room we wanted. Email confirmation appeared to have booked us the room. Fast forward to Easter weekend. When we arrived to check in, we found that not only had we not got the room the hotel staff confirmed was booked for us instead we had been given a room with a view of the car park and main street. We were furious and the receptionist found us an inferior catherdal view room and when we demanded to see the manager we were told that they were not there that day but when they did come in they would see us. Well they never turned up and sent us a very poor email apology once we had got home (it seems it was our fault that their booking system is dire). Basically the message here is that you can't be sure that the room you book is the one you will get and if you run into a problem, the management hide themselves away. Also we could hear everything going on in the room next to us and my wife and I both hope that the guest occupying it has got over his bad cough. Our weekend away was ruined.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel - ask them to confirm which room number has been booked for you. Don't use their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We went here for new years eve and stayed in the top room in the gate house and can not fault anything, from booking the holiday to arriving and being escorted to the room, all the staff were absolutely great and very very friendly. The room was superb and the views of the catherdal were to die for-i got some great photos. New years eve was great although we ate way too much and had to lie down before the midnight bells!!!!!! the town is lovely and everyone is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, There are some really nice bars which sell very good food, try the old jail the atmosphere and food was wonderful, it looks a bit odd from outside but go on in you will not be dissappointed. We walked to wookey hole and then got a taxi back. worth a visit.
I would def recommend the gatehouse hotel for a romantic getaway and any sort of break, you will be hard pushed to beat this hotel anywhere in the UK for views, atmosphere, friendliness and the breakfast is amazing.

Room Tip: ask for the top roomin the gatehouse or the pink room def worth paying a bit extra. very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have just spent two nights at the Ancient Gate House. Our room had a wonderful view over the cathedral green and although quite small, was very comfortable and attractively decorated. We were made welcome and a helpful member of staff took our case up to our room. We had dinner the first evening in the italian restaurant at the hotel. This was very nice, though a bit pricey £72, for starters and main course only, with a bottle of the house white. However, we were on holiday and there was Mozart playing! The breakfasts were really good: a nice buffet then traditional cooked breakfast with plenty of choice. It was served just across the street, in the White Hart, which belongs to the same people. Car parking is not easy. The hotel recommended on street parking in New Street (always full, we found) or the Cathedral Green, OK overnight but restricted to 2 hours during the day. There is a pay and display in Whiting Way, £6.50 for up to 24 hours. I would suggest a drop off at the town end of cathedral green, and person two takes the car to the pay and display while person one checks in. If the White Hart is not full, guests can use their car park, but on this occasion Wells was a popular spot and that hotel was full up. Cannot wait to return to a lovely city and a delightful, traditional hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to face the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Sat up in a lovely tester bed looking out over the green to the cathedral. Very helpful staff. Ate in the restaurant of their sister hotel. Fabulous dinner and great breakfast. One gripe? Windows needed cleaning - such a small thing. One query? Why was there no room 6? Rooms 5 and 7 but no 6.

Room Tip: Rooms on cathedral side wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We decided on the Ancient Gatehouse because of its location and tariff. We were visiting family and the hotel was convenient to his address. We did the booking 'online' and also Google mapped the hotel and area. It was apparent there was no parking area at the hotel but we did manage to park in the White Hart over the road . This is a guesthouse so parking was expected to be restrictive. The Gatehouse is a lovely little place to stay the exteria and reception could do with upgrading but the rooms are well decorated and clean and offer everything required for a short stay. The staff were very polite and the breakfast was to die-for. Breakfast was offered 'over the road' in the sister hotel which only added to the quirkieness of the stay. We loved it and have already recommended it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 3 has perfect view of Cathedral across the Cathedral Green
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient Gate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Gate House Hotel

Address: 20 Sadler St, Wells BA5 2SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ancient Gate House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you come to the Ancient Gate House in the Cathedral city of Wells in Somerset, you'll feel at home as soon as you arrive.Whether you are staying in one of our recently decorated and beautiful bedrooms, or dining in one of our award winning restaurants your comfort and satisfaction are at the heart of everything we do.The Ancient Gatehouse is a family run hotel and restaurant offering a blend of friendly and professional attention in relaxed yet stylish surroundings situated facing the famous west front of Wells Cathedral and the Cathedral Green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ancient Gate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Gate Hotel
Ancient Gate House Hotel Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Gate House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.