We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hotel, Cathedral view and great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Gate House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ancient Gate House Hotel to your Saves list
Ancient Gate House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   20 Sadler St, Wells BA5 2SE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 41 Wells B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute little hotel, Cathedral view and great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

My wife and I were staying in Wells (where i went to boarding school some years back) for one night to meet some old school friends. We choose the Ancient Gatehouse due to its convenient location directly on the cathedral green and because we got a decent rate via [-]compared to the other hotels in town.

Our room was small but clean and comfortable and it did have a direct view of the cathedral from both windows! The whole hotel is very cute and quite romantic but not very spacious...

We also really enjoyed the english breakfast (which was served across the road in the sister hotel as the hotel's own restaurant did not open in the morning as we were there somewhat out of season).

Parking was not an issue, as we found a spot in the little lane right next to the cathedral green (this may be more of an issue in the summer or for longer stays!).

Overall good value for money and we would definetely stay there again!

  • Liked — View of the Cathedral from Room
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
13
67
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

My husband and I found the Ancient Gate quite by accident while touring SW England. Our room (#7, I think) was very quaint, small (but we didn't care), up a little, narrow staircase, and had a fantastic view of Wells Cathedral and green. We were happy that it was February and there were no leaves on the trees to block our view! Parking was not a problem for us as we stayed a Sunday and Monday night in February and the management let us park in their sister hotel across the street. We were a little late for breakfast one morning and we did get a little scolding from the server, but were able to get breakfast. The Italian restaurant was good and made a fantastic pasta olio/aglio.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

Visited the Ancient Gate House with some trepidation after reading TA reports and having made the booking after reading a review in the Telegraph. An interesting place – parking is extremely difficult (the best bet is alongside Cathedral Green which means turning off before you get to the hotel otherwise you have to drive round the town centre again). The twisting narrow staircase to the first floor is a challenge to use if you have any mobility problems or happen to be much over 6ft as there is a archway at the bottom. Like one of the previous correspondents, we were in room 12. Yes: the plumbing from the WC on the floor above is spectacularly noisy and the sounds go on for some time. The central heating, on the other hand, was pretty quiet. There was hot water on a generous scale. The floor had sunk well out of the horizontal, sagged quite dramatically in one point and creaked when walked over. The bedcover could have down with replacing but the bed itself was comfortable and both of us got a good night’s sleep. Food in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced although the staff – very helpful and friendly - forgot to put dinner on our bill and took some convincing that it had been overlooked. However, the location is the thing – the back entrance of the hotel opens onto Cathedral Green with the glories of the west front only a few steps away. We were attending a concert in the Cathedral that evening and didn’t want to have to go too far. On balance, the hotel is 700 years old or thereabouts: it would benefit from some work to bing it upto date.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

We arrived at The Ancient Gatehouse Hotel for a 3 night break over Easter. The first problem we encountered was the parking but luckily we found a side street neraby which had no restrictions and had space during our stay.
Initially we were really happy with our room with a 4 poster and a great view of the cathedral (Room 7) but as soon as the room next to us was occupied we could hear everything from their electric toothbrush to their conversation about what they planned to do the following day! After speaking to the manager, who admitted he knew there was a problem with the sound between rooms, we were moved the following day to the sister hotel across the road which unfortunately didn't have the view but a much quieter room.
I think the hotel was quite pricey for what you got and unfortunately I would not stay there agian!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

I really cannot believe that this hotel made it 2nd in the ratings for Wells.
This is one of the worst hotels we ever stayed in! And this was the general consensus among most of the other guests in the breakfast room the following morning.

Where shall I start:
1. The hotel apparently dates from the 1200's/1300's and I guess their beds and mattress too. Like most guests we had back pain the following morning from the worn-out mattress (and I am only 29 years old).

2. The rooms were dirty, the bathrooms were dirty, and we actually tried avoiding touching anything. I wont be surprised if all they did after the previous guests departed was to make the bed.

3. Noisy night! The central heating obviously also dates out of the medieval times and was constantly pinging very loudly. Many other guests mentioned this. The windows rattled, but that was probably just bad luck for the room we had. (avoid room 12)
Lastly, whenever someone used the toilet or a tap upstairs it actually sounded like the water was being dropping on top of you (once again not the only people who had a problem with this.

4. Lastly, the morning after showering my wife realised that her supposedly clean towel actually had dried blood (or maybe worse...) covering a whole corner of it.

Unfortunately this rating system don't allow you to give less than one star, but I wont go so far. This hotel can have one star for the fact that it has a great location near the cathedral.
Next time I am in Wells I'll rather walk an extra 5minutes to the town centre and stay somewhere decent.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights at The Ancient Gathouse Hotel in Wells. The room was quaint and cosy, overlooking the Cathederal Green with a fabulous view of the west front of Wells Cathederal. We dined in the hotel restaurant both nights and found the food exceptionally good and the service was excellent. The hotel was exactly as you would expect a 14th century building to be. Narrow passageways and winding staircases, low ceilings and small doorways all added to the atmosphere which we found quite enchanting. We parked at the sister hotel just across the road and also had breakfast there. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Wells is a lovely city and I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2005

The Ancient Gatehouse hotel is ok, but dont expect too much. We booked a room with a four poster bed, which was a bit short as our feet hung off the bottom, and the room decor was terribly dated and could do with a spruce up. We also had no shower and the hot water we ran for a bath wasnt that great. The staff were very friendly though. All in all an average place but with a clean up it could be lovely.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient Gate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Gate House Hotel

Address: 20 Sadler St, Wells BA5 2SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ancient Gate House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you come to the Ancient Gate House in the Cathedral city of Wells in Somerset, you'll feel at home as soon as you arrive.Whether you are staying in one of our recently decorated and beautiful bedrooms, or dining in one of our award winning restaurants your comfort and satisfaction are at the heart of everything we do.The Ancient Gatehouse is a family run hotel and restaurant offering a blend of friendly and professional attention in relaxed yet stylish surroundings situated facing the famous west front of Wells Cathedral and the Cathedral Green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ancient Gate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Gate Hotel
Ancient Gate House Hotel Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Gate House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.