We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay for weekend, in the heart of Wells” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
White Hart Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay for weekend, in the heart of Wells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night,arriving mid afternoon to a friendly receptionist,who showed us to our room. The room had tea coffee tray,tv, free wifi,ironing board and iron.But couldnt find the hair dryer. The room was clean but could do with a lick of paint,we were in room 7.The bathroom was clean but felt the grouting round the shower cubicle could of been replaced.The hotel is very well located in the centre of Wells,opposite the cathedral. There is a party room on the same floor as the bedrooms,so when we returned from our evening meal,there was a party infull swing,but was amazed that we couldnt hear the music from our room,not sure about the other rooms. Breakfast was very pleasant help your self buffet. An assortment of cereal,fruit , full English,toast and tea/coffee. Would stay here again but reccomend booking.com,as hotel directly was over priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    53
    29
    19
    15
See reviews for
7
81
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on 21 and 22 September - car park was a little tricky to navigate but we had been warned. Stay was very pleasant, lovely breakfast on both mornings with pleasant attentive staff. Room was a little tired but bed comfortable - walls are thin so noise from other rooms can be heard but not enough to spoil my stay. I would definitely stay here again but only at late rooms or other deal rates as the hotels published prices are not good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Wells for a wedding. The bed was so comfortable that I didnt want to get out of it! The room was very clean and a decent size for two. No views though. Ideally located for the amazing cathedral across the road. I thought the food was ok but a bit overpriced in my opinion. The breakfast in bed was a good idea! I would stay here again if I ever had cause to return to Wells.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This Hotel a complete rip off, over priced room are dirty and the staff are not very frendly
My advice would be to book another Hotel in Wells, keep a close check on your bill when you leave as they will try and over charge, on my visit for dinner one couple walked out due the poor qualty of the food, my room was dirty hair in the bath and stains on the bed, not a hotel I would stay at again, they tryed to double charge me.

Room Tip: Keep away from this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We visited the restaurant today after a walk round the lovely wells. Found it quite expensive for the quality of food. £3 for a very small coke, the size you would give a child. I ordered the vegi burger which was £6.90 which was the oddest vegi burger i have ever seen. It was covered in batter and had a vegetable paste inside. It tasted nice but i chose the vegi burger as i thought it would be the healthiest option i could see on the menu but it wasn't and it came with 6 greasy homemade chips. I have never known a vegi burger to be fried in batter. My friend had a noraml burger which she said tasted odd and quite fatty. The lady that served us in the restaurant seemed very attentive and obviously enjoyed folding napkins which i thought was a waste of time. For a two star hotel very overpriced, not much choice on the lunch time menu and food very fatty. Would not return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Yes, convenient setting in the lovely city of Wells, BUT the rooms at the back have paper-thin walls (we could literally hear our neighbours turning over in bed and walking on the creaking floor!), the beds are extremely creaky, small and the duvets 'mean'. The bathrooms are outdated. Don't stay here if you want to sleep at all!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

An OK stay in an ideally situated hotel except for the very early wake ups by the traffic and deliveries. Many if the rooms either open onto the courtyard area or overlook it; the noise is dreadful. Parking is possibly the tightest i've ever experienced, is not for the faint hearted and you can easily get blocked in. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — White Hart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Hart HotelThe 15th century White Hart Hotel together with Brufani's Restaurant is now well established in Wells. The hotel offers 15 refurbished bedrooms, large function and banqueting suite and a ground floor restaurant. All rooms are ensuite with daily house keeping included in the room rate. Proprietor/and or staff on site and on call to resident guests 24 hours a day.Situated in the City centre this hotel offers bed and breakfast (B&B) accommodation and has its own Car Park. Located at the entrance of the Wells Cathedral Green and just yards away from the ancient Market Place, the White Hart Hotel is the ideal gateway for exploring historic Wells and the surrounding areas of beauty and interest in Somerset.Bristol, Bath, Glastonbury,Glastonbury Tor, Cheddar, Clarks Village, Wells Golf Club and Longleat are all close by. Our acclaimed bedrooms are individually decorated whilst still featuring some of the more interesting historical features of the building. Modern necessities such as hairdryer, trouser press, tea and coffee trays, colour television and telephone with modem come as standard in the rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.