We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best customer service experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best customer service experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The customer service by all staff, whether in the bistro, restaurant and particularly the reception staff this would be top of my list. Never over the top - they just cared and seemed like they liked their jobs. How rare is this?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    138
    56
    18
    15
See reviews for
51
242
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed here for 1st wedding anniversary and had a lovely room with a great view of the cathedral. Would have been disappointed if I had got a room without this view and don't know if my review would have been the same?
Decor and furnishings were fine but perhaps a little tired and dated. Small bathroom.
Food (we had breakfast and dinner here) was good, well presented etc.
Car park was quite small and full (due to wedding on site) but we were lucky to get a space - bit of a hassle to get in and out though with lots of people fighting for spaces.
The reason we stayed here was the location as it's perfectly located for exploring Wells. In my opinion, slightly overpriced for what it is though but I guess you're paying for the location as much as the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

A lovely old building with lots of character. Good food and drink coupled with polite and friendly staff. Right in the centre of the extreemly small city. Plenty of banks, shops, restaurants and pubs all within walking distance. Which is a good thing as you may lose your parking space if the hotel have got a wedding function on!
My only complaint in fact would be the noise of the wedding discos for 2 nights out of a three night stay. I feel the lack of communication between Best Western and The Swan Hotel led to me booking a noisy room which I may not have done, if I'd have known about the disco! It would be fair I think, to inform people beforehand.
However, I would recomend this hotel, its food,staff etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have stayed in the Swan twice whilst on residential training. Both times I had lovely old rooms, with charming wooden (but wonky) floors and a view of the cathedral.

I was so charmed by the hotel (despite being imprisoned by work) that I decided to visit with my partner. We booked a package on a Best Western deal and were given a room with no view other than the back of the kitchens.

The room was grubby and noisy so I complained to reception and asked to be moved I was astonished to be told "what do you expect on a cheap package". I was offered another room for a higher price despite the fact that the hotel was by no means full.

The all inclusive menu was far inferior to what was available and staff were totally disinterested.

It's a real shame that they let themselves down by not being bothered about a customer that they thought was just on a bargain deal. I had joked with my husband that it was nothing like *Hot Fuzz" ... I was wrong. I can only console myself with the fact that we are no longer using them for corporate bookings so obviously I am not alone!


T

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeple Aston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at The Swan for a family wedding held locally and booked 4 rooms. All the rooms were very well (recently) decorated and each one was very different.

The old coaching inn history was evident when we arrived and drove through to the rear of the building to park the car - such an interesting insight. Wells is a delightful little city and we enjoyed walking around, seeing the cathedral and also the market (Saturday).

Breakfast each morning in a nicely decorated room with lovely, high back, velour chairs - I would like to have taken a few of these home with me! Service in the breakfast room was OK but it would be nice if they seemed happier in their work: only one gentleman seemed genuinely pleased to be carrying out his job and the old problem of rather surly service was a shame as it lets this fabulous place down. Some staff training in the art of discreet hosting, with a smile, would be a good idea - I have worked in this industry and a little "role play" might be useful to show staff the subtle difference between good and lacklustre attitudes when serving the very people who are actually paying their wages.

We had everything we needed, good ambiance, lovely smell of woodsmoke in the sitting area and my husband and I are looking forward to returning in the not too distant future. Also very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Great hotel, friendly staff, good food. Nicely decorated room and lovely outside patio/bar area overlooking cathedral. Convenient for shops, Glastonbury, Street etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwakuni, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Friendly professional staff, comfortable rooms at a competitive rate, an amazing full English in the morning, a two minute walk to the Cathedral or the High Street shops.... The Swan is an excellent choice for any traveler. If you are looking for a "cheap room" stay on the motorway. Staying at the Swan is an experience, not just a place to rest after a long day on the road. My only wish is that the rooms had updated locking mechanisms, though there is something quaint about a "Fawlty Toweresque" key bob the size of an Italian sausage. I have stayed at the Swan twice and will surely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located in the shadow of Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in nearly 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral and boasts a dramatic bedroom furnished in a rich palette of purple and gold. Guests can indulge themselves in the magnificent sitting room sipping on complimentary Champagne and pamper themselves in the grand free standing brass bath. Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotels award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible and the menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can enjoy the splendid oak panelled restaurant whilst the beautiful surroundings of the Walled Garden Café and Garden Room are open for alfresco dining during the Summer. Wells and the surrounding area are packed with plenty to see and do. Wells market take place on a Wednesday and Saturday with an interesting array of goods available from over 50 stallholders. While on the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England’s most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.