We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantsatic wedding reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantsatic wedding reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We chose the Swan Hotel as the venue for our son's wedding in May. Most of our family and friends stayed for the whole weekend, from dinner on Friday night to a relaxed breakfast on Sunday morning. We had a superb time and everything went to plan - excellent venue, dedicated staff and wonderful food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    138
    56
    18
    15
See reviews for
52
242
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south coast
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Great service,great views of the wonderfully majestic Wells Cathedral and an excellent restaurant. We have stayed here twice now and will be back before too long.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break, very reasonably priced for D/B&B. Have been to Wells a few times, 2nd time staying at The Swan. It is by far the best hotel in Wells town (city). There are two lovely log fires where you can have a quiet drink. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. We ate in the restaurant both nights as it was part of our package, the 3 course dinners were 1st class, the fillet steak was one of the best I have ever had and the desserts are to die for!
Top class hotel in such a beautiful little place, Wells.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Stayed at the Swann Hotel for 2 nights, Great location and really close to Glastonbury. Room 15, newly renovated to a really high standard, Spacious and comfortable, with individual and unique furniture in a room with classical colours and soft furnishing. Tastful and in tune with the age and location of this lovely hotel. Only draw back was that the Queen size bed was 2 beds connected together. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely.

I would really recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

In my eyes this is really a four star hotel! And it is really unique. The building it self is about 300 years old and it carries a lot of charm.

Two things I do not like - The linen. Get rid of the old type bed covers and get some proper linen. ( A quilt?)

- The food. The restaurant are trying too hard. A normal Ala carte would be so much better

I do like everything else. Especially the smell om fireplace that cover all common areas.

This can be a excellent hotel if the change a few things ! I will defiantly come back next time i am in the area!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

I stayed at the Swan for one night whilst on business in the area. I had a really relaxing stay and would recommend this hotel to others without reservtion.

The staff were really professional and friendly. Great levels of customer care. The food was excellent and the lounge has a large open fire. My bedroom had a four-poster in it and the bed itself was really comfortable. The furnishings were luxurious although the bathroom could have been more modern.

I would stay here again whenever visiting Wells or the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Not a bad UK country hotel. Pretty well appointed with nice rooms. Pretty quiet, just what I wanted, but I only asked for one thing which I had to wait 24 hours for, namely a blanket as the room was particularly drafty. Otherwise not a bad stay. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located in the shadow of Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in nearly 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral and boasts a dramatic bedroom furnished in a rich palette of purple and gold. Guests can indulge themselves in the magnificent sitting room sipping on complimentary Champagne and pamper themselves in the grand free standing brass bath. Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotels award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible and the menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can enjoy the splendid oak panelled restaurant whilst the beautiful surroundings of the Walled Garden Café and Garden Room are open for alfresco dining during the Summer. Wells and the surrounding area are packed with plenty to see and do. Wells market take place on a Wednesday and Saturday with an interesting array of goods available from over 50 stallholders. While on the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England’s most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.