We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already Planning a Return Visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guildford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Already Planning a Return Visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Very nice hotel, the room was comfortable and clean. The food was very nice although the service seemed somewhat slow during busy periods. The hotel is perfectly placed in the city, opposite the cathederal. The car park is to small when the hotel is full, I had to park behind the main street a few minutes walk, ok as long as it is not raining. Overall we had a very enjoyable time and are planning a return visit. We would recommend a visit. The review would have been excellent but for these two areas.

  • Liked — Reception staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpfull.
  • Disliked — The walk to the car as I had to park in a back street as the car park was full when we arrived.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    155
    63
    20
    15
See reviews for
55
289
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Arrived at the hotel on Tuesday afternoon looking for somewhere in Wells to spend the night. Initially we were informed by reception that the rooms were £134-a-night. That's pricey by anyone's level and that the four-poster rooms were £150. They had no 'standard' rooms available and offered us a four poster room for £134. After haggling, we were offered the room at £84!

The room was excellent with a good en-suite bathroom and flat screen TV.

Four poster mattress had seen better days but the breakfast was superb and served quickly with nice hot plates.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

A great weekend with great food in a small but wonderfully historic hotel. Service was good, we didn't like our room so were offered the choice of two others. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Sipping coffee by the roaring log fire in the evening was bliss. Wonderful location immediately opposite the cathedral.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

We walked in off the street on a Bank holiday weekend Sunday afternoon and were immediately attracted by the number of people having afternoon tea and/or drinks in the quaint reception rooms off the foyer.

The room-only price wasn't cheap, but with only a small amount extra, breakfast and a 3-course dinner were included. Given this hotel is part of a chain, we were a little dubious about having dinner there, but decided to give it a go.

Our room was a little dated, but clean and fairly comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was excellent, a shower over a bath, lots of fluffy towels, great toiletries and decor.

The highlight of our stay was dinner though. We chose our 3 courses from a nicely balanced un-pretentious menu, with enough choice to satisfy our very different palates. Each course was nicely cooked and presented and the service was pleasant and attentive.

Breakfast was interesting, as they had suffered a problem with the lights in the restaurant and so we ate our cereal and cooked breakfast by candlelight, but the situation was handled with grace under pressure by the staff and so didn't impinge on the fact that once again the food and choice was great.

All in all we enjoyed ourselves and would stay at this hotel again quite happily. We would definitely take the dinner and breakfast deal with the room price again though, as we felt this made the tariff much better value.

  • Liked — The food and the location.
  • Disliked — The bedroom decor could do with updating.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. It had a wonderful view of Wells Cathedral and the room was spacious and very comfortable. We booked the four poster bed room and were pleased. A bit noisy in the morning due to being on the road but we didn't mind as we could also hear the cathedral bells in the afternoons. We only ate breakfast there and it was OK. Staff helpful and friendly many stairs to carry up luggage which they offered help for example. There was parking as well which was important to us as we rented a car for our trip.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I stayed here when my Sister got married in the Cathedral and so I decided to spend a little more on one of their 4 poster rooms and I have to give the Swan some allowance for it being an old hotel with period furniture and say that the room was nicely sized and comfortable. However, I was very disapointed that given the cost of the room was £180 a night the service did not in any shape meet my expectations.

Trying to obtain coffee or a drink of any sort during the day was difficult and required at least 2 requests to reception for service and service at breakfast on the Saturday morning was slow.

I was particuarly shocked when I received a note from reception on the Sunday morning to advise me that the service at breakfast would be slow as the hotel was full. Slow was not the word for it, given the hotel was full I would have expected more than 1 member of staff to be present to take the orders and deliver from the kitchen. When it finally arrived the breakfast was adequate but not up to the standard expected, just like most hotels cheap ingredients (the sausages give it away) are used to cut costs, but I can accept this at a £65 a night motel but not one costing £180.

  • Liked — Views and the room
  • Disliked — Service and (lack of) value for money
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonehouse
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Stayed in a standard double room which was of adequate size well furnished and clean although one could say it needed updating. The room was in the coach house which overlooked the main shopping street and was therefore noisy in the morning with deliveries although this did not trouble us too much. The staff were very helpful and efficient. Breakfast was well managed and the cooked breakfast was well prepared. A bit disappointed that some of the things you would expect to see available for breakfast (croissants, bread rolls, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts) were not on display.
The main area that let the hotel down was the bars. There is a great garden area with adjacent bar but this was either closed or reserved for wedding parties. We tried to get a drink at the other bar a couple of times and withdrew as it did not feel welcoming or was not staffed.
Overall an enjoyable stay but not outstanding. The prices in Wells seem to be quite high.
Great deals on coffee and a nice outdoor seated area at the nearby Crown Hotel. Make sure you visit the market near to the hotel on Weds and Sat mornings. Overall Wells was great.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Bar
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located in the shadow of Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in nearly 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral and boasts a dramatic bedroom furnished in a rich palette of purple and gold. Guests can indulge themselves in the magnificent sitting room sipping on complimentary Champagne and pamper themselves in the grand free standing brass bath. Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotels award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible and the menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can enjoy the splendid oak panelled restaurant whilst the beautiful surroundings of the Walled Garden Café and Garden Room are open for alfresco dining during the Summer. Wells and the surrounding area are packed with plenty to see and do. Wells market take place on a Wednesday and Saturday with an interesting array of goods available from over 50 stallholders. While on the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England’s most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.