We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Wells
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for the weekend had a fantastic view of the Cathedral from our room. Fab evening meal and breakfast good start to the day. Visit to the Bishop's Palace stopping for a coffee. Lovely setting with good helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    117
    49
    16
    14
See reviews for
39
209
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent hotel. Staff very welcoming and polite at all times.nothing was too much trouble and they were extremely knowledgable about Wells . Room 16 was spotlessly clean and quiet. Location was perfect and could not be bettered,enjoyed drinks on the terrace overlooking the magnificent Cathedral. Will definitely return. Brilliant breakfast too! Only stayed one night but felt thoroughly spoilt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Swan hotel is really lovely with great service. Unfortunately we have just returned from 2 sleepless nights in the noisiest room I have ever had to sleep in. We were housed in Room 17. It is directly above the kitchen , with two ventilation shafts directly outside the windows which don't close properly. To top it all there is a very noisy grid on the road directly outside the room, which every hotel patron by car drives across , making the most unbearable noise. There are other rooms on the same corridor which must have a similar ambience. If you go to this lovely hotel make sure you don't stay in any of these rooms........................AND why you ask did we not ask to be moved. We had unpacked, were in bed fast asleep when it all became crystal clear and we thought it was too late to be moved.

Room Tip: Don't allow staff to place you in Room 17 or any other close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent all round : the service was exceptional - reception, dining, room, bar : location was the best - opposite the magnificence of the facade of Wells Cathedral -
adjacent to the main shopping street - and hardly a Mary Rand hop to the market square : next to the 1000 years old Norman Cathedral with it's stunning interiors and stained glass windows, is The Palace and the palace gardens - rich in history, fabric, furnishings and colour.

Would I visit again? yes, in a blink; and thanks to the wonderful staff that made our first visit so memorable

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend at £157 per night bed and breakfast. Had room 41 which is one the top floor, front facing and centre with a perfect of the Cathedral. The room itself was a double room with bathtub and shower accessory. Remember if you want your towels changing you need to put them IN the bath not on the edge otherwise they get folded up and used again. The shower gel etc and 2 bottles of water in the room don't get replenished. Only other negative point would be the slight smell of stale cigarettes in the room.

That said, check in was efficient and polite. Reception had kindly ordered us a taxi for a pick up at a wedding we went too which gave it a big plus in terms of service in my book. It didn't seem too much trouble.

Breakfast varied in terms of ingredients on both the Saturday and Sunday. Different sausages on different days and missing black pudding on the Sunday. I'm putting it down to a hectic and busy breakfast service. They coped very well despite this and the breakfast was lovely.

The hotel itself has a historic decor and sets the atmosphere very well. The lounge area at the front of the hotel is very cosy and well used by the guests which is nice. The front door is locked at night so be prepared to ring the bell for the night porter if you stroll in at 11ish. Very helpful man though and seemed run off his feet at time dealing with everyone's nightcap orders. Good effort from him though.

The hotel is 30 seconds from the market street and located literally around the corner from the shops. Very convenient. There's a night curry house next door too.

If the price doesn't deter you, choose this hotel if you're staying in Wells

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed outside Wells this weekend and stopped off at The Swan hotel for a light lunch and drink. The sun was shining so we took advantage of the superb garden overlooking the Cathedral. As we had had a cooked breakfast we only wanted a sandwich so went into the bar. The choice of sandwiches was good - ham, cheese, beef but my main concern was that my daughter's was made without any trace of mayonaise as she is seriously allergic to egg - even using the same knife to spread butter that has been used to spread mayonaise will result in her being very ill. I explained this to the barman who was absolutely charming and assured me that he would speak to the chef.
The sandwich was delicious and absolutely egg free - which enabled my daughter to enjoy the rest of her day!
So thank you to the lovely barman on duty on Saturday at about 1.00 pm. Next time we are in Wells we will book into the Swan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in the Mews, in a small cottage with 2 bedrooms, reached from the end of the car park. Very quiet, although you could hear your neighbours. Very pleasant hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Couldn't use the restaurant as they were fully booked right through the weekend, but plenty of alternatives within yards. As close to the cathedral as you could get, and well worth a visit.

Only complaint would be the size of the bathroom in the cottage, nice bath but the shower without a curtain totally impractical. How you would manage if on the large size I don't know.

Room Tip: Mews cottages very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located in the shadow of Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in nearly 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral and boasts a dramatic bedroom furnished in a rich palette of purple and gold. Guests can indulge themselves in the magnificent sitting room sipping on complimentary Champagne and pamper themselves in the grand free standing brass bath. Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotels award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible and the menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can enjoy the splendid oak panelled restaurant whilst the beautiful surroundings of the Walled Garden Café and Garden Room are open for alfresco dining during the Summer. Wells and the surrounding area are packed with plenty to see and do. Wells market take place on a Wednesday and Saturday with an interesting array of goods available from over 50 stallholders. While on the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England’s most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.