We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful in a wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful in a wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The room was at the end of an "up a bit down a bit" walk which you often get with old hotels, and the room's walls didn't meet at right-angles which was odd, but it was comfortable and had everything I needed. The staff were helpful and friendly. The car park is through the old coaching arch and is a bit awkward to get to if you have a larger car. The hotel is on the other side of the road from the cathedral, and there is a wonderful view of the cathedral from the bar - and presumably from a handful of bedrooms at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    138
    56
    18
    15
See reviews for
51
242
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have just stayed at the Swan Hotel. Two nights B&B and D. Staff very helpful and friendly but very professional which gave the hotel a special status. Room was immaculate and well presented.It was our Anniversary weekend and both of us felt 'spoilt'. Both evening meals were excellent and breakfasts were plentiful with great choice.
This was our first return visit since our wedding night 27 years ago. What a transformation. Well done Swan Hotel.

Room Tip: We were given a room in the new courtyard suite. Comfortable and modern. Could see the Cathedral fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ives
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had room 15 which wa clean and modern but had no facility for hanging long coats/ dresses which in winter is a problem. The bathroom lacked any hooks for clothes/dressing gown. Otherwise the staff were very friendly, approachable and helpful, the breafast and dinners were above the standard expected for a three star hotel.It is ideally placed to explore Wells. The Hotel car park is limited so early arrival is recommended if you travel by car.

Room Tip: I would avoid the front rooms as they overlook the road although you do get a good view of the cathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went for our 48th wedding anniversary and were delighted to be greeted with the news that we had been uprated to a fourposter room which was most comfortable. The staff were so friendly and willing to be of assistance, this applied to reception, bar and restaurant. The food was excellent and the chef has to be praised for the dishes and the menu, I really must recommend that if you are a cheese addict like myself that you try the chefs special on the breakfast menu which is Taunton toast with bacon and won't spoil by telling you what it is, you'll just have to try it !!
If you aethinking of going to Wells you would be mad to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nothing to complain about, very friendly staff, good food- we had evening meals and breakfast on our two night stay, plenty of choice on the breakfast menu - I recommend the Chefs Sommerset special with scrambled eggs - frist rate.
Our room was adequate for our needs, lovely comfortable bed, good bathroom facilities, everything spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely love Wells and the Swan's location is hard to beat. We booked the Cathedral Suite which we have stayed in before - the decor and the view are amazing - and the bath. We chose to eat elsewhere for dinner each night but did have breakfast in the suite each morning and that was great. So why the rating? Unfortunately the service and management of issues is a big let down. The HUGE gorgeous bath in the Suite is a big feature but think again if you want to have a long hot soak. On the Saturday night there wasn't enough hot water and I sat shivering in cold water as we called down and waited for a return call and then called down again after 10 mins, only to be told that the boiler was working ok (ah well, I must just be imagining a cold bath then!). This was on top of the dismissive manner by Reception when I deigned to request that the water and bathroom products be replaced on the second night (why don't some hotels treat the second night like the first - we're paying the same again?). We were downstairs for an hour after and went up only to find the water was still to be replaced. Pedantic? Possibly but when you're paying for the best, we expect the best. A cursory £30 was taken off the two nights and a follow-up email from Terri promised to look into it. 20 days later we receive the most bland response ever - I think I'd possible have preferred no response at all. A good hotel manages an issue well and understands the importance of repeat visitors - unfortunately The Swan didn't match up this time. What a shame...

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanhotelwells, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking to respond to my email and for taking further time to write your review.
I am sorry it took some time to respond to you following on from my initial apology and response.
I can assure you the promised action taken has been effective even if my response was tardy and bland.
Regards
Terri Chichester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

After trying, and failing, to book into some of our favourite restaurants around Somerset late on a Saturday evening we decided to give the Swan a try. Having had drinks in the beautiful lounge area a few weeks previously we were quite excited to try somewhere new and expecting good things.

We ordered the Red Onion Tarte Tatin and the Hare to start. My first mouthful of the Hare contained a small fragment of what appeared to be bone, which is a forgivable mistake, but unfortunately the dish itself was, to my taste, disgusting. My partner (who is usually one to eat anything) also couldn’t bring himself to try more than a mouthful. The Tarte Tatin was infinitely better, but with quite large undercooked pieces of onion it was still not particularly remarkable.

My main course was essentially just a chicken breast with mashed potato and some vegetables, but I must say that it was nice (although perhaps not what you would expect for the price). My partner had the £20 Sirloin Steak which was rare as ordered but the 8 chips were undercooked and solid, and bar a few salad leaves and ketchup that was all that was on the plate.

We didn’t risk dessert.

For the price we ended up paying it was not the standard one would expect, it was more reminiscent of a standard pub chain such as Wetherspoons. And perhaps that is a little unfair on Wetherspoons.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanhotelwells, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Guest feedback is very important to us and we are investigating the issues you have raised.
Please rest assured this will be discussed and reviewed
Kind regards
Terri Chichester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel

Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located in the shadow of Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in nearly 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral and boasts a dramatic bedroom furnished in a rich palette of purple and gold. Guests can indulge themselves in the magnificent sitting room sipping on complimentary Champagne and pamper themselves in the grand free standing brass bath. Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotels award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible and the menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can enjoy the splendid oak panelled restaurant whilst the beautiful surroundings of the Walled Garden Café and Garden Room are open for alfresco dining during the Summer. Wells and the surrounding area are packed with plenty to see and do. Wells market take place on a Wednesday and Saturday with an interesting array of goods available from over 50 stallholders. While on the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England’s most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.