We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cadgwith House

Cadgwith House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cadgwith House
Save
You added Cadgwith House to your Saves list
Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Independence, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Cadgwith House proved to be an ideal place from which to explore the lovely town of Wells. We were booked into this B&B as part of the Bath and West country walks vacation. Jackie was exceptionally friendly and helpful in her recommendations, allowing us to take full advantage of the two days we had in Wells. The breakfasts were delicious. Large modern rooms allow for relaxation and rest. Most highly recommended.

Room Tip: Three spacious rooms, all on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for both the great review and for taking time to write it. I was truly delighted to have you stay here as guests and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time exploring Wells and of course that you got back home safe and sound. Once again many thanks.
very best wishes
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely warm welcome by owner , fantastic room and bathroom , I must say that everything was exceptionally clean .
Good range of items for breakfast including freshly made fruit salad and a free range cooked breakfast, that kept us going most of the day
Would highly recommend staying here for one or several nights
Derek & Sarah Bale

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
What a lovely review, thank you so much. I like my guests to "tuck in" to breakfast so it's good to know you really enjoyed all of it and equally good that you found your room comfortable.
best wishes
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Jackie was very welcoming and friendly, we stayed for one night in a family (triple) room which was very big with a good ensuite. Decor was modern and clean. Great location, 10 minutes walk into the centre of Wells. Breakfast was great and although we all had the "Full English" experience Jackie was happy to offer alternatives to the German family also staying for a few days. Good value for money. Will certainly want to visit Wells again and Cadgwith will be my first phone call for accommodation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for generous review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable. I know this trip was a bit different for you so I hope the journey south and east was an all round success!
very best wishes
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We found Cadgwith House by chance and booked a few days at the last minute - what a lucky break! Jackie made us feel so welcome, helped us plan some great walks right from the door, and served up consistently delucious cooked breakfasts. Our room was airy and light, with a peaceful view over the garden into the fields beyond. The bed was very comfortable, with cotton sheets and lovely down pillows and duvet. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the neutral, understated decor added to the feeling of tranquility.
Jackie is a delightful host whose friendly welcome and thoughtful attention to detail made our stay a real pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
What wonderful compliments! Thank you so much for such a great review. I know you really enjoyed the walks in the Mendips and it was genuinely a pleasure to help in planning your route. I'm glad the peaceful location was as required and hopefully provided relaxation before the Bournemouth conference! Once again congratulations on the 30 years!
very best wishes
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Cadgwith House is in an excellent location for exploring Wells. The room was large, airy and clean with beautiful decor. There was a warm welcome and a very nice breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I'm sorry that my response is delayed especially as you've taken the time to write a lovely review. Thank you very much and I'm glad you found your room comfortable. I know it was a long journey for you so it's all the more important to me that you enjoyed your stay here and of course that your get together with an old friend was a success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Cadgwith House, and could not have chosen better. It’s a brilliant B&B and certainly deserves its recent 4-star rating from VisitEngland.

Our bedroom was large, light and smartly decorated with comfortable beds and quality bed linen. There was ample storage space and a rural view over the garden to the fields beyond. The bathroom was huge, immaculately finished and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was inviting and relaxed, with interesting fellow guests to chat to, and each course presented at the pace that suited us. Our hostess Jackie was helpful, friendly, interesting and interested. Perfect!

The location was exactly what we wanted – in a quiet area, less than 10 minutes walk from the city with its cathedral, shops and restaurants. If you visit Wells, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
I'm sorry for this delayed reply particularly as you've been so generous in your praise! Thank you very much indeed, you seem to have included everything! It's always good to know what guests appreciate about their stay here and I'm so glad you especially enjoyed the quiet location and views of the fields from your room - as well as breakfast of course! It was lovely to meet you both and thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haywards heath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have read the reviews and find it hard to add to what has already been said. Our room was spacious with an added sense of space due to the understated decoration which is to our taste and the bathroom was more than adequate. Breakfast is great, particularly the home made marmalade. Jackie is extremely helpful and friendly which added to the ennjoyment of our stay. We will recommend Cadgwith House to our friends and will not think of staying anywhere else when we next visit the Wells area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and for making time to post a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay as I know it is difficult for you to take time off so it's good to know your mini-break was a success! Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cadgwith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadgwith House

Address: Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cadgwith House is a modern spacious house in a quiet location just ten minutes walk from the Cathedral. We have 3 large bedrooms all with spacious en-suite facilities. A choice of excellent breakfasts is offered, using local/free range produce and home made seville marmalade. Wells is an ideal centre for visiting Cheddar Gorge, Glastonbury, Longleat, the Mendip Hills and Wookey Hole or spend a day in Bath. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cadgwith House Wells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadgwith House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.