We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely quiet weekend away from the city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bliss Cottage & Yurt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bliss Cottage & Yurt
Save
You added Bliss Cottage & Yurt to your Saves list
34 Old Wells Road, Glastonbury BA6 8EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A lovely quiet weekend away from the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I enjoyed a very lovely couple of days at Bliss Cottage on a particularly cold March weekend! I felt so well looked after. Trish and Cosmo are wonderful! I enjoyed some really interesting conversation with them both! The b & b is so colourful, with interesting things everywhere from around the world. The bed was so comfy, and the rooms are great. it was such a treat to look out over the green fields and hear the birds singing rather than the roar of the traffic outside. It's situated perfectly to take long walks up to the Tor or across the Somerset Levels, and really close to town too. Trish really went that extra mile to make my stay as easy and comfortable as possible. I will definitely be back during the warmer months to soak up a little more bliss!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My lovely friend treated me to a stay In Glastonbury for my birthday. There was a band playing that we wanted to see so she booked a night at bliss cottage. I've never stayed at a b&b before, BUT if they are all like this, i don't want to stay in hotel again.
We had the warmest welcome, the dog Cosmo was beautiful, and as for trish, what a legend! So so helpful, gave us lots of lovely ideas of what to do with the rest of our time there, as quite frankly, we had come completely unprepared. The breakfast was just delightful too. Thanks to both trish and Cosmo for a perfect night away from the concrete jungle of Bristol. We stayed in the beautiful twin room, with the comfiest bed I have EVER slept in, and will certainly be back in the summer for a stay in the yurt ( she gave us a sneak peak and it looks fab!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

n.b. note to non-dog lovers - don't go here

We visited Trish & Cosmo (the dog) at Bliss cottage in chilliest February. It couldn't have been more inviting. Having driven through long delays from London on Friday evening, we were greeted by a warm fire in the room, and a friendly welcome from Trish - who wasn't at all put out by the late hour of our arrival.

We stayed in the double balcony room, not the yurt. It was just wonderful. A large, warm comfortable bed, and the balcony in the morning overlooked the mist-covered Somerset downs. Having stirred ourselves from bed after a long sleep, we were treated to an enormous, and delicious, home-made breakfast. Our every need was catered to, and when we let on that we hadn't brought any maps or prepared our trip beyond getting there, Trish brought out a wealth of literature, walking guides and OS maps, and lent them to us for the whole stay.

I cannot recommend it enough - we will definitely be coming back should we find ourselves near Glastonbury again.

Room Tip: We liked the balcony, but if you feel like splashing out in the warmer months, the yurt looks quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trish o, Owner at Bliss Cottage & Yurt, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Ah,thank you both-inspired by you guys I took to Deer Leap myself a couple of days later in glorious sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've stayed in Trish's gorgeous yurt and in her pretty cottage several times, and I love it there. Situated just below Glastonbury Tor, the yurt is in a secluded corner of the lush and abundant cottage garden with a glorious view of fields and hills. A funky woodburner keeps it cosy when needed and Trish supplies delicious breakfasts of locally-sourced organic food, home-made bread and excellent coffee. The beds in both guestrooms in the cottage are extremely comfortable, with snuggly duvets and good cotton bedlinen, and one guestroom has french windows leading onto a balcony with panoramic views and steps down into the garden. The garden itself is a glorious riot of herbaceous perennials, with clematis, roses and virginia creeper covering the old stone cottage walls. The bathroom has loads of character, with lots of books and a great power shower. Glastonbury is a great place to mooch round, with several good cafés and independent shops, as well as Chalice Well and other places of interest. Nearby Wells is also well worth a visit. Trish is the perfect hostess - friendly, informal and never intrusive - and will gladly advise on where to go and what to do. Bliss Cottage is the perfect place to unwind and be at peace.

Room Tip: Both guestrooms are lovely, offering superb views, and the yurt is very special indeed. You will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed at Bliss Cottage and the yurt several times now, with family and solo, from midsummer to midwinter, and each stay has been a treat. The experience has been comfortable and friendly, welcoming and above all - peaceful. The location is perfect for exploring ancient Somerset, or as a staging post for Devon, Cornwall and the far west. Not many hostelries that I've stayed at are as dog friendly as this one, and the resident dog - Cosmo the bearded collie - sets the tone with a sociable welcome. Trish is a warm and resourceful Mein Host - nothing is too much trouble - even the unexpected! Looking forward to my next visit to the Old Wells Road.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room for a view of Wells Cathedral, 5 miles away in the morning sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is the second time we (my husband, me and our daughter), have stayed at Bliss Cottage and yurt - the first time 2 years ago we stayed in the yurt which is a must do experience , this time we stayed in the very comfortable cottage. The warmth from the wood burner heats the whole cottage and produced plenty of hot water, both of which were needed after having the cob webs blown away at the top of the Tor and Wearyall Hill. The surroundings of the cottage are beautiful, and just to sit in the garden with a coffee and look out to the fields or back at the cottage covered in the red and gold ivy creeping up the side , is just pure bliss to do. Cosmo is a gorgeous friendly dog , who was great company and a pleasure to get to know. The cottage is lovely and the beds very comfy!! As city dwellers caught up in the rat race , a trip to Bliss cottage reminds us there is a another / better pace of life, which we should all be reminded of from time to time. Within walking distance into Glastonbury and well placed location for visiting local attractions, the Tor, Chalice well, Wells Cathedral,and a little further a field ; stonehendge / Cheddar Gorge. Definitely worth a visit. Always a pleasure and I am sure we will be back Trish :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have stayed in Bliss Yurt a number of times now and would have no hesitation in saying it is simply perfect. The views are amazing. The setting is peaceful. Trish looks after me perfectly. So sad that Rico died, as previous reviews, but Cosmo just as friendly and nosey! Such a shame it has to come down in the winter, I'd stay anytime.

Room Tip: The yurt is best but the house is also beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bliss Cottage & Yurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Cottage & Yurt

Address: 34 Old Wells Road, Glastonbury BA6 8EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful rural setting; Bliss Cottage is a stone’s throw from the Tor, the Somerset Levels and Glastonbury town centre, with immediate access to cycle routes and footpaths. The atmosphere is friendly, relaxed and informal.We are eco-friendly, vegetarian and organic.Recycling, PV panels, water harvesting, woodburners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bliss Cottage & Yurt Glastonbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bliss Cottage & Yurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.