We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing magical place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glastonbury Tor

Glastonbury Tor
off Wellhouse Lane, Glastonbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Glastonbury
Type: Geologic Formations, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 3 days in Glastonbury and visited the Tor every day at least once - during the sunrise, sunset, during the sunny day and foggy as well, during the night on full moon and it had different atmosphere all the time. Perfect time for quite relaxation. We really loved it <3

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    167
    29
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We climbed on a clear day and were lucky enough to get great views all around. A steady climb well worth the effort when you get to the top.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Return of the "torists"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We last visited the Tor 20 years ago and were impressed. We were delighted to be able to visit again on this trip. Even with a bit of mist and drizzle the Tor is magical. We would have hiked up again before we left town but the fog had settled in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Superb view, a little bit steep in places as there are no handrails but well worth the walk! Beautiful view and if you wish a lovely walk down the other side to the chalice well. We took the park and ride bus to the tor which is £3 each- it can be walked to in about 25 mins and is a beautiful walk up but if you wish to save your legs the bus is worth the money :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A steep climb for this over 65 year old but worth it for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We used the park and ride in the town centre as we didn't fancy the walk from the car park. If you have a bus pass show it to the driver as you get half fare, £1.50 instead of £3 for the return journey. The car park is next to the Abbey so you can visit the 2 attractions in one morning.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glastonbury Tor also viewed

Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to Glastonbury Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glastonbury Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.