We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, exhilarating walk with awesome views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glastonbury Tor

Glastonbury Tor
off Wellhouse Lane, Glastonbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Quick, exhilarating walk with awesome views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Take the park and ride bus which leaves every 30 minutes to the base of the hill. Lots of interesting characters to meet at the top if you still have breath left! Great views!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    186
    32
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Tor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Whats not to like, mystical, reverence, spiritual if none of that takes you it's got a fantastic view at the top!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Most peacful place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I loved the climb up to the Tor, challenging at times as I am not very fit, but places to sit on the way up helped. Nice to see new benches on the Tor. Felt like I was in a wind tunnel at the top, but felt like it was blowing my trubbles away, very peaceful and everyone we passed on the way up and down spoke, so refreshing that everyone was so friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Views wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

After a long uphill walk to get to the path for the last steep climb I felt tired and not sure why I come this far,I looked up at the Tor,pondered if I should make the trek up the steep steps.i decided I had come that far so here I go.walking those steps to the final goal was hard and made my heart pound.but when I reached to top it became clear why you should go to this attraction the views all around was stunning the wind was hard but the scenery was breath taking.somersets best vantage point for the countryside views.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algodonales, Spain
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“PHEW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A very steep climb up but worth the trek with fabulous 360 degree panoramas for many miles around. We looked to see if we could spot the Festival site but couldn't make it out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glastonbury Tor also viewed

Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to Glastonbury Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glastonbury Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.