We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday carvery - Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion At Pennard

Save Saved
You added The Lion At Pennard to your Saves list
The Lion At Pennard
The Lion At Pennard
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lion At Pennard
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Glastonbury Road | West Pennard, Glastonbury BA6 8NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 61 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery - Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

On the way back home from Clarks Village in Street on Sunday, we planned on eating sunday lunch in the new Beefeater carvery. It was fully booked with an hours wait, so we ventured further home and came across 'The Lion' in Pennard.

They had a table for us, with an open fire and also a carvery! It was delicious! We had a choice of rare or medium beef, pork and gammon. All the veg was fresh (unlike tasteless carvery), homemade roast spuds and parsnips, creamy leeks, cauli & broc cheese. Was extremely impressed and will defo go back again! £8.50 a head was well worth it.

Lovely homemade sunday carvery!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

One dismal, cold, wet and windy Monday leading up to Christmas, we decided to try and brighten up our day by going out for lunch. Having neglected to make a reservation, we discovered that the pub/restaurant that we had initially opted for in Shepton Mallet was closed that day, so we headed out on the Glastonbury road to 'The Lion'. We had eaten Sunday lunch there before and had been very satisfied with the food and the service.

The welcome from the lady behind the bar was a warm one; however we found that despite the cosy appearance of the bar area, when we removed our coats the air temperature was far from warm. We therefore opted to eat at the table next to the open fire, which improved the situation.

Remembering from our previous meal there that the portions were fairly copious, we decided to give the starters a miss and went straight into ordering our main courses, after having an initial drink of course. My husband appreciated the good selection of real ales. The lunch menu was very extensive and there were also several suggestions of the day on a blackboard above the bar.

The menu was composed of mainly traditional dishes, but a few of them were a little more adventurous. The prices for these ranged from under £7 for fish and chips to nearly £16 for a large rump steak. I choose a filet of pork in a mushroom sauce from the blackboard, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and my husband opted for a steak. The meat was very tender and was accompanied by lots of freshly cooked vegetables.

Our recollections of copious meals had been correct, my main course was far too much for my appetite and therefore I failed to have a dessert; but my husband enjoyed his chocolate fondant. The service was good and the person serving the food was helpful and friendly.

In conclusion – a warm welcome, but a chilly bar, and a good choice on the menu. Just one comment, I would have appreciated other fish dishes on the mains menu apart from the battered fish and chips. Generally, we enjoyed our meal and left feeling that we had had a good value lunch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We came across this pub on our way home one Sunday on a previous visit to Somerset. They serve a carvery on a Sunday from 12 to 1430. The carvery was delicious and we agreed the next time we were down near Glastonbury we would try eating here again.

We have just been down to Glastonbury again, booked a table for Saturday night. We sat in front of a lovely roaring fire. The meals that we had arrived promptly and were both delicious.

I would recommend eating here. The landlady was friendly too.

Definitely do not have anything negative to say about the service or the food served which was reasonably priced, tasty and well cooked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

stayed at this hotel as visited glastonbury for the carnival - was the last room available in the area.
Friendly, smiling staff on arrival explained details of our stay, had evening meal on first night - good food served in reasonable time, Breakfast served to order and remembered our requirements (ie, no black pudding for me and vegatarian breakfast for partner) Room was adequate in lovely converted barn - could have been cleaned more regular and no hot water on last morning of our stay but no other complaint.
Very accepting and welcoming of a gay couple staying - would stay again.

Room Tip: expect to drive from this hotel - not walking distance to glastonbury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was doing an exhibition at the bath and west showground. Accomodation was great value. breakfast was very good indeed. Nice full english will all the trimmings. Room was comfortable and very adequate. No shower in the bathroom but good long bath. I would definitely recommend this place as it represents great value for money. VAT registered too so company can claim the VAT back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at The Lion whilst on a business trip to the area. The bar is very characterful and quite cosy. My meal of fillet steak was absolutely delicious - meat perfectly cooked and fantastic chips. Breakfast was excellent with scrabbled egg not over done - like it is in so many places. Good coffee. My room was quiet and clean. Yes, some of the decor is dated and in need of tlc but it's good value for money and I'd go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in mid oct and liked the location. The night sky was awe inspiring with no street lights. The rooms themselves are very dated with no shower. The bathrooms were shoddy and there is a lack of attention to detail, eg, the mastic around the bath was past it's time and looked scruffy. The rooms smelt musty and felt damp although no sign of damp was evident. Basic lighting is required in the carpark as it's uneven and a bit dodgy in the pitch black. Breakfast was ok and serice was prompt and friendly. This isn't a cheap hotel but should be due it's appearance and standard. You can't check in until 6pm which makes the price even more less value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lion At Pennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion At Pennard

Address: Glastonbury Road | West Pennard, Glastonbury BA6 8NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion At Pennard 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Lion At Pennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Pennard Glastonbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion At Pennard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.