We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adult only heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Oaks Touring Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Oaks Touring Park
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Wick Farm | Wick, Glastonbury BA6 8JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adult only heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are looking for peace, quiet, tranquillity but without having to 'rough it' Old Oaks is what you've been looking for. Adult only so no screaming kids! They have had a new facilities block put in and it is jaw dropping. 5* all the way. Staff are lovely too! Try out the camping cabins - they are amazing and so comfortable.

Room Tip: The camping cabins are first class glamping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    2
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
202
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I Received a warm welcome on arrival and the site is lovely, but a few days into our stay it became clear they only like certain types of people and their priories are massively misplaced. They are constantly mowing ,gardening, making huge thwacking noises which were like gunshots. and disturbing the peace, the site is child free yet we had to put up with noisy children playing the the owners garden, i witnessed a member of staff shouting at people for gathering by the old oaks trees which is located behind their site, I'm unsure why they own a campsite by glastonbury tor because they seem to dislike people who go up it and also like to visit the oaks trees?

I asked the staff at reception to order me a taxi as i had no mobile and they treated it as a massive inconvenience and told me to use their public payphone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldoaks, Manager at The Old Oaks Touring Park, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Many thanks for your taking the time to leave us a review. All feedback, good and not so good, is welcome. Firstly. I'd like to express our dismay that your stay with us was not what you'd hoped.

It is true to say that my husband James, takes great pride in the upkeep of the park and therefore, mowing, gardening and other general park maintenance is ongoing. In fact, it's this attention to detail which many of our guests love. However, we realise that it is not possible to cater to every taste and we apologise if the sound of our children playing in our back disturbed your holiday.

It is also correct that James was required to speak to some people at the trees at the top of the site. Unfortunately on this particular night, they were exceedingly drunk and very noisy. As long-standing members of the Tranquil Parks group, it is our duty to preserve the peace and quiet that all of our guests expect and enjoy.

Finally, with regard to your request for a member of our reception staff to call a taxi. This has been discussed and we have looked at ways to further improve the customer service we provide.

Thank you again for your valued feedback. Tara White ~ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The owners of this family run park have created a beautiful park with every facility you could wish for. It is especially good for dogs who had as good a time as we had. Where else would you find a heated shower for dogs next to the totally enclosed, immaculately kept dog walk. Anti-bacterial hand gel dispensers were also strategically placed at the dog walk and at toilet emptying areas.
The brochure says it all - and is not hyped up to appear better than it is.
The park is in farmland a short drive from lovely, friendly Glastonbury and is extremely peaceful.
Those that have not stayed here are definitely missing out on an exceptional caravanning experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a gem.All caravan sites should be like this.Everyone is super friendly and professional.the views are stunning ,the site immaculate,and the shower block would not be out of place in a five star hotel. Well done the old oak team,you have vastly exceeded my expectations

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

As one of the UKs 'tranquil' campsites, we were attracted by the fact that children are not permitted. Together with the fact that the Old Oaks provide camping cabins for an alternative style of accommodation is a welcome addition. We have stayed in both cabins and touring pitches and find the site, surroundings, facilities and overall experience outstanding. It must also be said that the staff are amazing - nothing is too much trouble and they all work together to provide an outstanding service. There is only one hiccup- the cakes that are freshly made on a daily basis play havoc with anyone's diet!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had read the excellent reviews regarding this site and they all certainly live up to the reviews. This is the best site we have ever stayed on in our eight years camping both in the UK and abroad. Some say its expensive but I've stayed in other sites (even in the same week as our trip) that were more expensive and not a patch on Old Oaks. From the friendly arrival and the helpfulness of the wardens, the well stocked shop, the beautiful grounds and a shower block that would give any 5 star spa shower blocks a run for its money. We were there for two nights and were sorry we couldn't stay longer but will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit and just as good it may be a little more expensive but its soooo worth it this site is clean quiet and the staff are so lovely we have camped here and used the cabins and I cant wait to go back just try it u won't be disappointed its THE place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Oaks Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Oaks Touring Park

Address: Wick Farm | Wick, Glastonbury BA6 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Oaks Touring Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Oaks Touring park is an award-winning, adult-only campsite and touring park offering 5 star facilities in an outstanding environment. Set amidst tranquil Somerset countryside with spacious landscaped pitches, stunning views and spotless facilities it is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Perfect for walking and cycling. Only 3/4 mile from Glastonbury Tor. Course fishing onsite. Great shop with local produce, delicious home reared beef and fresh cakes daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Oaks Touring Park Hotel Glastonbury
The Old Oaks Touring Park Glastonbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Oaks Touring Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Oaks Touring Park to your Saves list