We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not drink here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The George and Pilgrim

The George and Pilgrim
1 High Street | Glastonbury, Somerset, Glastonbury BA6 9DP, England
+44 1458831146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 43 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Do not drink here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Do not drink here. Unless of course, you wish to be cross examined as to any hidden agenda's you may have for purchasing a beverage. As a Government Professional, it may have come as a huge surprise to the bar staff to discover that I do not endorse the practice of illicit/underage drinking. Whatever issues the owners are having regarding the purchasing of strong ales/ciders, I found the current management strategy/inference rude and offensive. As we say in the trade, maybe its a training issue ?


A regular visitor to Glastonbury for over 30 yrs.

(This review is not a reflection of the accommodation or dining facilities but based solely upon the purchase of alcoholic beverages only).

    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    72
    32
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“evening meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

the menu was ok it is pub grub we were not very hungry so opted for snacks the food was good portions large

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A truly great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I love this pub, it's everything you could want in a traditional old pub. It oozes character from the wooden beams to the stained glass windows. The bar staff were welcoming and friendly and though quite busy served very quickly. The drinks are reasonably priced too. I ordered a meal and was very pleased. I had steak which was perfectly cooked and served with real chips, salad, mushrooms, peas and the biggest, crispest and nicest beer battered onion rings I have ever tasted. Highly recommended for a drink or for food, would definitely return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We weren't expecting much as we bobbed in here out of the rain, but it was really very good! The barmaid was very friendly and patient while we mucked her about changing our drinks orders and quizing her about the menu. We ordered two of the pies which are a whole meal in a pie - containing meat, veg and pots under a falky pastry lid. They were really superb, the beef was tender and in a gorgeous beer gravy. The kids ordered a chicken burger and a beef bruger, both were home cooked, a slice of chicken breast, and a home made burger. They were really well cooked and had proper grated cheddar on instead of a slice of plastic cheese. I thought it was great! Really cheap and very nice food well cooked. fab place as well!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“George and Pilgrim, Glastonbury”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Don't think I'll eat there again. Dinner took an hour to arrive from order, though it was OK when it did. Pretty average pub food but it was under £35 for three of us. My steak was nicely cooked and my companions enjoyed their (1) stuffed chicken breast and (2) sole - but it was all a bit 'beige' if you see what I mean.
The pub was full of pixies - I do not jest - which was moderately entertaining.
The loos are horrid and inadequate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George and Pilgrim also viewed

 
Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to The George and Pilgrim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George and Pilgrim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.