We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spears Cross
Save
You added Spears Cross to your Saves list
1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Spears Cross Hotel. The building dating from 1460's is beautifully preserved, adding to the character of the place. The hosts are very very hospitable. A warm recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

First visit to Spears Cross and can only say that this place is top notch from the quality of accomodation, food and not least charming hosts Cliff & Tricia who go that extra yard to make sure your stay is perfect with hidden extras like Afternoon Tea and pre dinner drinks. A wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Geoff & Rosie say: - Yet again a lovely stay. This place is amazing, we love it and vow to return annually. Cliff & Tricia are excellent hosts. The breakfasts are brilliant and they use all local sourced foods which in turn supports local people, great. We were also given little extras which made our stay feel very personal. Dunster and its area is very beautiful. Thanks again to our hosts and will be seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easterton Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Spears Cross was the successful result of an internet search for a base on Exmoor to spend a few days as part of my wife's birthday treats. A most genuine warm welcome from Cliff anhd Tricia, for whom nothing is too much trouble, is that most important first impression of Spears Cross. A 15th century gem tucked away in the shadow of Dunster Castle. The exposed beams, creeking floors, four poster bed and inglenook fireplace create a superb atmosphere, which is complemented with modern bathrooms and sound systems complete with a choice of CDs. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and although facing the road was extremely quiet. The dining room is well thought out, the tables not being crowded or regimented. Using local sourced organic foodstuffs the Spears Cross breakfast is a hearty , tasty meal to set you up for a days exploring around Exmoor . The comfortable guest lounge is just the place to curl up on the settee with a cup of tea and a slice of cake , making use of the large selection of guide books to help you plan your next days outings. Need a taxi or a table at a local restaurant then Cliff or Tricia are on hand to provide advice and book for you. Dunster is a popular place and therefore some advance notice may be required. Cliff a wine merchant in a former life is ready to serve qulality wine or malt whisky as an aperiitf or night cap which was a an excellent and unexpected and welcome bonus during our stay.
We were wo impressed that we immediatley booked a further visit, something we have never done before and are looking forward to Dunster in July.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

As a former management consultant I would say that Cliff & Tricia's boutique hotel is a case study in quality management:
- meticulous attention to detail (they have thought about everything)
- exceed guest's expectations (you will get some pleasant surprises)
- continually innovate (they are always looking to improve, e.g. food suppliers)
And when you have got all that right, remember that hospitality is a personal service and not a product. It would be easy (if you wished it) to pretend you are staying with some friends you hadn't seen in a long while.

A complete pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Cliff and Tricia were the perfect hosts, attentive without being intrusive. The room (we stayed in the Porlock room) was superb, exeptionally clean with super personal touches (won't say what as it would spoil the surprise), the ensuite bathroom was new and sparklingly clean. The breakfasts were fantastic, with local produce beautifully cooked and presented: we had a different one every day, each as good as the last (don't miss the porridge!) The location was great, right underneath Dunster castle, but just far enough from the High Street not to suffer from a noise problem. We stayed for 3 nights and we left feeling as if we had been relaxing on holiday for a fortnight. Advice - take slippers or socks as the hardwood floors can be a bit chilly on the feet :) We will be booking again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

This hotel is really spectacular! The building itself is something to behold - dating from the 1400s it's a truly stunning place to stay. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful - every detail has been though of. Double showers, Penhaligons toiletries, Bose sound systems, flat screen TVs - the works - and very good value for money too. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating, allowing us to park our car in their drive way. Breakfast is something else as well - vast range of things on offer, all locally sourced, organic etc and wonderfully cooked. It's hard to praise this place enough. I think you get the message: you must stay here if you're ever seeking a lovely stay Dunster! Bravo!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spears Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.