We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exmoor Ironman 70.3 visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exmoor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Exmoor House to your Saves list
Exmoor House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exmoor Ironman 70.3 visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Exmoor House was well situated for the Ironman at Wimbleball Lake. Steve and Sheila willingly housed the bike. They welcomed us with a drink and homemade cake. Steve is an excellent cook serving a wide variety of breakfasts. The rooms have everything you need and are modern, tidy and clean. We had a thoroughly good stay and would recommend Exmoor House.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your weekend and my cooking. I appreciate your comments thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
86
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Exmoor House was quite and very comfortable. Sheila welcomed us with tea & cake and Steve looked locations up on a map for us and helped with our luggage. Breakfasts were extensive and tasty. Fresh fruit, cereals followed by a full cooked or smoked trout, for example. The furnishings were of a high standard and the bed very comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is an example of good hospitality. On our arrival we were welcomed by Steve and his wife with cake, coffee and tea. They gave us good advices about car park, restaurants and "things to do". Breakfast was nicely served. We can certainly recommend Exmoor House and the wonderfull village of Dunster.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We always do our best to ensure guests feel welcome from the start and it is nice to know that you appreciated that. Thank you for taking the time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

An excellent guest house. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for the owners. The room was comfortable, the bedding was the same style that we use at home and the bathroom was spotless. The breakfast selection was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Friendly and comfortable B&B in the gorgeous medieval town of Dunster. On arrival you are greeted with cake and made to feel right at home. The room was comfortable and had some extra thoughtfulness in the wine glasses and corkscrew, hooks on doors and drinks available in communal fridge on the landing. Bed was comfortable and shower strong and powerful. Breakfast choice was wide and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous short break with our nephew. Both of our rooms were spotless and the bed was amazing. We were greeted on arrival with tea and cake which was lovely after a long journey. Steve and Sheila went out of their way to make us feel at home. The little extra of fridge on the landing with fresh milk and numerous squashes was a welcome extra. Breakfast was amazing- huge choice and really high quality. This place is fabulous and cannot recommend it more highly. We will return

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Appreciate your comments. Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a delightful stay here for 3 nights. We had tea and cake in the lounge on arrival, there was fresh milk in a communal fridge with cooled water and soft drinks. Breakfast was delicious with a varied menu, service was friendly and wet gear was lined up to dry! We hope to revisit this excellent B&B. Jean/Norman

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting your group, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exmoor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor House

Address: 12 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in our Grade 11 listed Georgian house dating from 1725. Although classified as Guest Accommodation Exmoor House has the look and feel of a country hotel. Relax in one of our six en-suite bedrooms. You have the choice of doubles, twins or kingsize beds or spend the night in our luxury 4-poster bedroom. WiFi available. Local free range/organic produce used in our Full Exmoor Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Exmoor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor House Dunster, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exmoor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.