We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent position, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yarn Market Hotel to your Saves list
Yarn Market Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 - 33 High St, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
UHants UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent position, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Stayed here on their winter break special -two nights half board for £120pppn. Room 2, which others have mentioned is lovely, a good sized, well equiped room with a double aspect overlooking the Yarn Market and up the High St. to the Castle. Lots of narrow stairs and doors to negociate, so those with heavy luggage or disabilities would struggle, but once there, well worth it! The Hotel does not have a Bar (ignore the door that says 'Bar' - it isn't!) and therefore it would be nice to have a small fridge in the room especilly in summer. Parking wasn't too bad as the Season hasn't started, in fact most shops and attractions are still closed, but I should imagine in summer it must be terrible, although the (paying) car park is a 5 minute walk away. We found breakfast to be both ample and good - if you leave here hungry it is your fault! However, the evening meals in the resturant were not so good. I would not recommend the half-board, eat else where, and there a quite a few alternatives. The starters and 'puds' are good but on each night the mains were poor and we were not alone in complaining about the quality. The staff are excellent, friendly and efficient. Would I stay in Duster again? most likely yes, at the Yarn - no. The Dunster Castle Hotel only has six rooms but beautifully done, has a bar with friendly locals and parking. Didn't eat there, but the food looked very good. I would like to give the Castle a go next time, but apart from the evening meal the Yarn was very good and most likely better suited for families and dogs!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    47
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
47
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter Devon England UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

A quintessential hotel in the middle of Duster Village. Comfy beds. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The food in the restaurant and breakfast are good. The rooms are clean and tidy. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, Essex, England
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Stayed 5 nights in early June at this very well situated hotel, just next to the ancient Yarn Market in the very quaint (and very touristy!) town of Dunster. Well appointed room, but ours was not one with a good view (not that this is necessarily a disadvantage as the others are at the front). Very quiet except for the church clock playing Home Sweet Home at 5 a.m.!

Staff really excellent. We had just booked out when we discovered our car had picked up a puncture. Without being asked, the hotel sent outtheir maintenance man to change the wheel! And he point blank refused a tip.

Food good, but only a short menu, and we found some dishes were unavailable. But well-cooked, plentiful, and enjoyable. Breakfast room a bit small but food good.

In all an excellent small hotel in superb location.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — No view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Stayed here for the 2nd year running as part of a large group. in fact this year we occupied the whole hotel. The welcome and helpfulness of the staff is way above average. Our room this year (6) was great and had everything you could need.
The whole hotel is very clean.
The breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had but by no means the worst, the choice is very good and the staff are very attentive and patient but not pushy.
The location and ambience of the hotel are wonderful. Car parking could be a bit difficult during peak season but both years we have managed to park for free outside.
The only drawback is the amount of stairs to some rooms but this is what I would expect for a building of this age.
The decor is fine.
This hotel is best for short breaks with friends/family but I wouldn't rate it highly for business.
We will definately return with friends for short breaks.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff and ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Address: 25 - 33 High St, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarn Market Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.