We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your wish is our command” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yarn Market Hotel to your Saves list
Yarn Market Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 - 33 High St, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Ellwangen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Your wish is our command”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I was part of a large group from southern Germany and we stayed in the hotel for just under a week with half board. My biggest compliment goes to the staff concerning their ability to deal with any situation e.g. it never fazed them that we sometimes came back for the evening meal over an hour late. The meals we were served were always perfect, really delicious and very varied. Many prejudices about English cooking were destroyed in that week - I was the only Brit in the party! Breakfast was served buffet style. The variety was good in my view and there was always enough.

Moreover, Anthony and his wife were incredibly patient and helpful without ever giving me the feeling of putting it on e.g. travel tips, providing information, rigging up lighting in the garden late at night. The other members of staff were very pleasant too although I didn't get much chance to talk to them. Anthony also gave us a very interesting tour of Dunster.

The hotel is a little bit like a rabbit warren but after one day, I could find my way about easily. My twin room was comfortable, always clean and had plenty of cupboard space. As we were at the top of the building under the eaves (room 29), neither the door to the bathroom nor the shower itself were that big (by German standards). However, that is exactly part of its traditional charm and certainly not a point to criticise as far as I'm concerned.

My one negative comment relates to the "iffy" W-Lan connection. In my room it just about never worked - owing to the thickness of the hotel's building materials Anthony said - so that I had to go down to a room near reception for internet access, where the connection was good and reliable.

All in all, I can comfortably say I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this part of England.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    49
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
52
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely six days there walking the SW Coastal Path. The cheerful service, local information and advice were outstanding and I would highly recommend the hotel as a base for local walking and travel.
The attention to small details made our walk very easy and enjoyable.
Dunster is a charming village and worth seeing. It is worth remembering the hotel is 3 star rated so don't expect boutique hotel design flourishes.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel located in a lovely small town of Dunster.A fine location with nice rooms and friendly staff.
Our dogs were welcomed and there were several walks around the small Town to be enjoyed by dogs and us.
Breakfast we had was a buffet style but perfectly acceptable.
All around a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just spent 3 nights here in room 5. Obviously recently refurbished with excellent bathroom. Suitcase carried to my room. Anthony a convivial host and all staff friendly and helpful. Ideally situated in a pretty village.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a new bathroom with separate shower. French windows in bedroom - lovely spot to sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed two nights with my wife and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Great room No2, and a very comfy bed. Anthony, the owner, was very helpful but not overpowering. The location is ideal. The only slight downside was that the breakfast was buffet style, not my ideal way to start the day. I would not hesitate to recommend the Yarn hotel and would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room no2 is on the top floor with a dual aspect and even though it faces out onto the street is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is a real gem. It is set in the middle of Dunster, a beautiful village, and covers 6 old buildings (so it is a bit of a rabbit warren!). The rooms are cosy and comfortable, with a lovely comfy bed and everything thought of. The service is great, I was part of a large group, which they handled with ease. Food is lovely and the beer is good, what more can you want! They are dog friendly and they run themed things like walking in Exmoor.

Would absolutely return!

Room Tip: Top floor was nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Cozy old hotel with great rooms. It feels like you're back in the 19th century with present day commodities. Great service in a lovely location.
The restaurant is the downside of this hotel. Food could be better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Address: 25 - 33 High St, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarn Market Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.