We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better but spoilt by silly errors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Luttrell Arms to your Saves list
The Luttrell Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Redditch
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Getting better but spoilt by silly errors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

we have stayed at the Luttrell many times over the past 20 years and have seen many changes over the years. We stopped going about 3 years ago, but seeing it was under new ownership decided to give it another go. So we booked a 3 night DBB deal to try it out
On arrived, there was building work underway. I feel this should have been pointed out when I booked, but it didn't spoilt the visit so no harm done.
Check in was swift and efficient. The room was OK, but the blanket did have some holes in it.
And so to dinner. Oh dear. The evening meal was appalling. No bread rolls. Only one red wine on the wine list. The starter had to go back as it was cold. The main course ( veggie lasagne) was inedible. To be fair, they did offer to swap it, but as the rest of the set menu choices were meat ......
Breakfast the following day was fine, and after a good days sightseeing, back for another crack at dinner. It was better, Fish was cooked perfectly, and starter was nice as well. Maybe the chef the previous night had an off day. But really no better than pub grub, and twice the price.
The third night we ate out.
On checkout the bill was wrong.
So in all, reasonable but if you are charging a premium price, it should be so much better.
And will we stop again. Probably, but only B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Just to say thank you for taking the time to advise us about your stay, we do remember you and we thought we had resolved most of the problems and we will look forward to welcoming you back!!

In response to the points you address specifically; we have now put new beds and mattresses into most of the bedrooms and all beds now have new duvets - no more old blankets! We have also changed Laundries to a small private laundry well known in the area, so it is crisp, clean, white sheets and towels with no holes! We have incidentally now totally refurbished 4 rooms and touched up another six.

We have also used up all our predecessors wines and have a new wine list of over 20 bottles which we also offer by the glass! We still make our own bread but are making a lot more of it !!

A new till and front office systems has ensured that guest billing is accurate with room charges going straight from the till to the bill!!

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    53
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
121
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had booked this weekend away when the hotel had been run by Legacy. In the meantime, the hotel had gone into receivership and is now under new ownership, We were somewhat daunted when we approached the hotel. There is quite a lot of building work going on. We need not have worried. The hotel is lovely, staff friendly, rooms comfy and food excellent. It is quirky, dating back to the 14C. The new owner made a point of talking to us and explaining the ongoing work.I cannot fault the staff. They obviously have a vested interest in making the hotel work, but they were genuinely lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. I love the fact that you can take dogs there. Its a very good centre for Exmoor. We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived on the 5th April and were a bit daunted by work taking place at the hotel. This was soon dispelled by the friendliness of the staff. The owner told us of the new work to improve the structure of the hotel, necessary work to improve the hotel. Anyway the room No 27 was really comfortable and up to date. The food was really exceptional, and I would recommend trying it at least once on the visit. I believe it is all local sourced. I note some were not happy with it they must have been unlucky I reAlly could not fault it. We will certainly go back and knowing they accept nice dogs we may well try a few days with our dog. Good luck to the new owners and every sucess.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Its such a pity this hotel has some has some really nice features but is let down by some trivial
issues that really spoil. The hotel has some really nice rooms but the ones at the back of the hotel are like a basic cheap motel or travel lodge ( which are clean and excellent value for money, Im not knocking travel lodge) but for over £100 per night I expect a little better. Back rooms are small , basic but clean and tidy . No internet available in these back rooms .
Food here was very nice but again let down by silly mistakes like bringing starters and main course together and some of the portion sizes ( gateaux in particular) are embarrassing small..
I recommended some friends to dine with us at the hotel and wishes I hadn't.
Breakfast , never heard of easy over eggs, never got them right , but never mind
We found all the staff very helpful and friendly but can understand some of the negative feed back some people have given.
Cant say I will be back here although we come to Dunster every year on business
Car parking is a real issue (not hotels fault) but pay and display round the corner (£1.40 per hour)

Room Tip: ask for the front bedrooms , they are nice, The back ones are small and basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Luttrell Arms as we wanted to visit Dunster Castle on our way to Devon for Easter.

We managed to find a free parking space in the high street near to the hotel. We were a little dubious about our stay due to previous reviews. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who showed us to our room. Our room was small but clean and very comfortable but with its own little entrance and corridor, with a lovely large modern bathroom, also going off the corridor. Overall, our room was very privately situated and overlooked a small garden from a little window with its own window seat. We were supplied with plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits etc. and even had a little fridge. The only complaint was that the kettle lead was too short.

We were booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and headed to the dining room in the evening. The staff were very cheerful but the left hand didn't seem to know what the right hand was doing. My husband, a meat and fish eater, had no problem at all in choosing from the menu. I am a vegetarian and found it difficult to find two courses without meat or fish, but eventually did so with the help of the bar menu. Whilst the service was very slow, we could not fault the food in any way, it was excellent and very well presented. The wine was also reasonably priced for the quality.

Breakfast was lovely. The staff were very cheerful and could not do enough for us. I asked for an omelette and my husband a full English. Both arrived beautifully presented and lovely and hot. We could not fault the breakfast in any way and left feeling very full.

When checking out there were some hiccups but these were soon sorted. The hotel has recently been taken over and the new owners had a few teething problems with their new computer systems. We would certainly stay at the Luttrell Arms again if in the area. As far as we can see the new owners can only make the hotel better and better! We just hope this does not reflect too much in their prices!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We are local and knew the Luttrell had been through a bad patch, and is now with new owners. We decided to give it a try for 'bar meals' at lunchtime today, and were able to find a good table by the window which accommodated all seven of us. The lady running the bar was efficient and helpful, the waitress who took our meal order seemed quite new but coped very well and was attentive without overdoing it. The food - six different meals - arrived reasonably quickly but was clearly freshly cooked and was very good. They seem to have a good chef now! All the signs are promising and we would not hesitate to take other friends there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Omg....!
This Hotel is AMAZING! We decided at the last minute to escape for Easter, arriving in Dunster on the Saturday evening. The only place we found to stay was the Yarn Market Hotel and although looking very posh from the exterior and reception, the interior needs updating.
We happened to go to the Luttrell Arms for dinner and looked into booking a room for Easter Sunday...well, we have stayed in some places in our times but the room we had was absolutely stunning, four poster bed, sheepskin rugs and warm candle stick lighting. The ceiling was almost chapel-like. We ate dinner here two nights and breakfast , the staff could not do more for you it really was the best short break ever. They are also dog friendly so you can just pop in for lunch or dinner if you like which is great, we went a couple of years ago and it was not up to much but the new owners really seem to have got it right!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Luttrell Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.