We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunster Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Dunster Castle Hotel to your Saves list
The Dunster Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Hotel room was clean, good nights sleep, lovely breakfast. Staff very friendly, location although being in High Street was nice and quite at night even with window open. Menu was well presented and food to a very high standard.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    41
    23
    5
    8
See reviews for
25
96
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for us to stay for one night for our Anniversary. It was a brilliant choice! Grant, Jo and their staff were very welcoming, friendly and efficient. Our room was beautiful, it was clean, well furnished, including a Super King bed and had a lovely view of the gorgeous town of Dunster. We had a wonderful evening meal in the hotel restaurant. The food quality was excellent, the cheesecake was the best we have ever had! The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for us to be able to visit the Castle and grounds and take a trip on the steam train, both of which were very enjoyable. Thank you very much for making our Anniversary special. Paul and Cynth.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife Viv and I booked the previous day online and went to this Hotel on the recommendation of friends. On arriving Grant the manager was very friendly and chatty. They have only been managing the hotel for three months but all is going well.
We decided to have a light lunch in the lovely sunny beer garden, then later went for a walk around the village and toured the beautiful castle up the hill.
When we came back we discovered that Grant had upgraded our room without asking, the "Avill" room was beautiful with a massive superking bed and tasteful decor. When we went down for dinner later, I mentioned that the hotel sign was squeaking outside our window. Grant immediately sorted this out for us; the dinner was lovely as well.
This was a very warm night and we felt the room was far too warm and needed the windows open, the bathroom was like a sauna even though the radiator was off. It was only in the morning that Grant explained that they had under floor heating in the bathroom, and it had “maxed out” all night. My advise is check the switch is off or you will cook too if the weather is warm! Another bit of advice is, let the hot water run in the bath for a minute or so as they have old pipes that can discolour the water, then it runs clear; well it is a very old and handsome building!
Lovely full breakfast served by our young waitress and then off for a steam train ride down the coast from Dunster station. Thank you very much Grant, Jo and your staff for a memorable stay, we will be back! Thank you for the friendly service too!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which overlooks the main road. Traffic stops at the lights right outside our win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I had 4 days at this lovely hotel. Travelling alone with no car this was the perfect place for me with easy access to local bus routes. My room was lovely, overlooking the street. The staff were always friendly and helpful. I found the waiter/waitress service to be extremely prompt and accurate. And even when she was rushed off her feet, the waitress found time to smile, check everything was alright and ask how my day had been. The food is wonderful and excellent value for money. I haven't had chips that good for years, and the smoked almond, pea, and blue cheese risotto was the best risotto I've ever had. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Didnt stay at hotel as just a local day trip. Went for an early lunch. 2 adults 2 kids. Had the best scampi and chips ever not from packets and obviously handmade tartar sauce. Kids menu good not just sausages and chicken nuggets! Free range eggs in the gammon. Service quick and friendly desserts to die for chocolate and raspberry brulee and lemon posset gorgeous. Will go again on next visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulverton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Came here with the boyfriend our first official out the house date. Very friendly staff and atmoshere. I order elderflower press for drink but unfortunately they had none left in stock which is understandable, they offered me a cordial instead which was just as tasty.. Food was of very high standard, i had a warm chicken and bacon salad and the boyfriend had mussels, both meals were thoroughly enjoyed.
HIghly recommended, hopefully be back again for dinner...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We spent one night at this hotel as passing through area -the staff were very welcoming. Food was very good (the salmon and scrambled egg for breakfast was amazing). The room was spacious but very warm. A fan was provided and was on when we arrived. The windows opened onto a very noisy road, which didn't really bother us for one night. The hotel was very clean and we would visit again. Good value for money.

Room Tip: rooms away from main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunster Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunster Castle Hotel

Address: 5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunster Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Dunster Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunster Castle Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunster Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.