We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could try harder” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cheddar Caves & Gorge

Cheddar Caves & Gorge
Cheddar BS27 3QF, England
44 1934 742343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Cheddar
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These caves provided shelter for man more than 40,000 years ago.
Essex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Could try harder”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It's been a good 20 years since I visited the caves and I can't say as for the extra money they've necessarily enhanced the experience too much. The audio guides for Goughs cave are great but it does rather get in the way of it being a family experience if you're all stood there with the audio guide held up to your ear.

The Crystal Quest we'd bigged up hugely with our daughter but it was very disappointing. It was over in a matter of minutes and consisted of nothing more than plastic characters and a bit of smoke.

The museum was very informative but beware if you have very little children. Around the corner towards the end where the cannibalism exhibit is there is a huge and scary dismembered head rotating on a pole. There is no advance warning of this and it scared the life out of our 4.5 year old.

We did appreciate the 10 year time span of the entry ticket as we chose not to use the open top bus due to the weather.

Overall, it's not good value for money compared with e.g. Wookey Hole. If I had paid full price for my daughter to get in too (thankfully she was under 5 and so went free) I'd have been very disappointed as to what you get for the money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    411
    191
    87
    60
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent day out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Cheddar gorge was one of the most fantastic sites and days out I have had for ages. The caves were beautiful, as were the views at the top of the cliff top walk. Absolutely worth the money!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“£50 family of four!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

First of all the Gorge and caves are very impressive, very well presented and the staff were all very helpful and informative, but £50 pound for a family of four is a little expensive, at the end of the caves I could not honestly say I felt I had value for money. In the queue to pay there were a lot of people asking could they pay just for the main cave and not the whole bus, museum, etc package, if you are not a family then its £19 adult and £12 a child, sorry to harp on about the cost, but thats the feeling I left with, even though the caves are very interesting, Feb half term out of season no big queues.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“An expensive afternoon out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited during half term with daughter and her friend. Main cave was very well maintained and clean. Bonus for us that dogs welcome. Bus ride not running. Expensive at £55 for the four of us for what there was. Ok, we can visit the bits we didn't see for free within the next 10 years, but a long way for us to drive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheddar Gorge & caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The gorge and the caves are a fantastic place to visit, the caves are very well interesting and everything is well thought out. Try jacobs ladder if your feeling fit!

Great for the family or just a trip on your own, the shops and the parking are very good and everything is well signposted.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar Caves & Gorge also viewed

Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to Cheddar Caves & Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheddar Caves & Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.