We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out even in the rain!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheddar Caves & Gorge

Cheddar Caves & Gorge
Cheddar BS27 3QF, England
44 1934 742343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Cheddar
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These caves provided shelter for man more than 40,000 years ago.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great day out even in the rain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Had a great visit even though it started out a little damp. Plenty to do and felt we got our monies worth, but perhaps not including the parking. Discounted entry tickets can be found in nearly all leaflets about the area. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Bus tour very informative with breathtaking views. Loved the caves, brilliant for all ages. Did everything but the 3 mile gorge walk!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    411
    191
    87
    60
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester uk
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“The free bits are the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Visited with family members but as we'd just been to Wookey Hole we weren't bothered about going down another cave, so we parked in a farmyard up a steep hill for £4, saw the cheese making for another £1.95 and called it a day, Cheddar village is really tacky. However as the gorge is a public road you can simply drive through for nothing, which is what we did the next day. I then dropped wife and son off at the top of the gorge for them to walk down to Cheddar and I took myself off to Ham Wall RSPB reserve for an hour or two, picking them up at Axbridge later which is a lovely little village with no tourist tat, that was a much better and free day out.

Both Cheddar and Wookey Hole suffer badly from British rip-off syndrome, defacing what should be two lovely attractions.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

interesting day out with the family, little ones can get a bit bored in the caves but its very good. Plenty to see around the high street for both adults and kids.
Parking is pretty easy although can be expensive near to the caves.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Not impressed by the price tag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I think I'm going to be in the minority here, but I really wouldn't pay all that money again to go in the caves. Yes, they are in impressive but it's a pretty hefty extrance fee when there is very little else to see and do other than wander around a couple of caves. The massively impressive gorge is free to view so I know what I'll be doing when I next go to Cheddar! To be honest, I would recommend the not too far away Wookey Hole Caves for families with children - okay, it's more commercialised but there is far more to do to keep the youngsters amused - and the caves are pretty spectacular, too. Top tip - if you're going to the caves' museum in Cheddar, be warned, there's an enormous "blood"-splattered rotating skull at the end of the exhibits . . . it's a laugh for older kids, but there was no advance warning and my six-year-old was terrified.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

£48 for a family of 4 stung a bit but it was not a bad package overall.

Cave one is impressive, cave 2 is more impressive but has some daft Lord of the Rings theme to it which didn't make sense! Would have been more fun as a ghost cave instead.

Kids loved making pots in the stone-age bit and the man who welcomed us there was lovely. The flint chipper guy was a grump though!

The tour bus that takes you back up to the top is a good idea but I have no idea what the lady was saying as the speaker was too quiet! Nice views though.

There is a walk up a few hundred stairs with an observation tower at the top that gives nice views of the area.

Top tip - don't pay the £5 for parking as there are quite a few hidden, free parking spaces if you're crafty!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar Caves & Gorge also viewed

Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to Cheddar Caves & Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheddar Caves & Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.