We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Gorgeous Tea Room

Simply Gorgeous Tea Room
Cheddar, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 37 Restaurants in Cheddar
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

In the sleepy village of cheddar it appears almost impossible to eat before ten. We managed to find this place which was just about open. Sight from the start there was an atmosphere and we questioned if we should wait for somewhere else. The food however was great and well worth the atmosphere problems, everybody rows.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    1
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charge for tap water”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ordered a light lunch, there were seven of us, we all bought drinks ordered three ploughman plates which is like a cheese platter with meats, salad, olives etc and two plates of pastie,beans,and chips.
We asked for extra cutlery and were told they had none and to top it off when we asked for tap water for our table they said that would be75pence per glass!!!!!
Also we were one plate of food short.
The young waitress seems embarrassed to tell us we couldn't have extra cutlery and had to charge for tap water, is that even legal?

Oh, when I went in to get a serviette there were a whole basket of wrapped cutlery.
We will not be going there again and advise others to be aware.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We only had a tea for two but it was lovely and the shop itself was stunning. The service was great and the cakes looked fab

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Always eat here on our annual visit to Cheddar. Good honest food, mainly light lunches, all-day breakfast (recommended at less than £5), cakes, scones etc. Ploughmans lunches are amazing and huge! Efficient staff, friendly and knowledgable owner who always makes time for a chat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious cream tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had afternoon tea here one day during Easter. The scone was incredibly tasty and the jam and clotted cream were great. It was good value for money as well. The tea was standard. The cafe is very small, so it can fill up fast. I'd go back any time, it was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Gorgeous Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Simply Gorgeous Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Gorgeous Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.