We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local Italian - service could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Martini Restaurant

Martini Restaurant
8-9 George Street, Bath BA1 2 EH, England
+44 1225 460818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 414 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good local Italian - service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our second visit to Martini's. We both had steaks which were very good. My problem with it on both visits is that the owner/manager seems to not have much of a tolerance for tourists. Both times an undesirable table was offered when there were a lot of unreserved better tables available. Food was good, for the price, would expect a more hospitable host.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    194
    63
    27
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Real Italian, at last !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

After proving several italian restaurants in England, we finally found a real one. Highly recommendable. It's not cheap but well worth the money. Excellent pasta, calamarete and home made tiramisu. Excellent service, too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I am wheat intolerant so eat a lot of seafood when out. I have eaten here on a number of occasions and the seafood is top notch. I had a lovely Dover sole.

The seafood is fresh daily and as a result very tasty...no frozen portions here!

My wife had crab linguini and really enjoyed it

A lovely friendly restaurant in the centre of town. Well worth the walk up Milsom Street

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic rustic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Went for Saturday lunch with my wife, daughter and two grandsons. Everyone loved it and my lobster with linguine was exceptional. Even my 3 year old grandson tried it including the mussels!
This is a place for family fun and not high end presentation or fuss but it does it all very well indeed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Visited this restaurant recently on a Sunday night. We arrived about 8.30pm and because it wasn't too busy, were served immediately. Food is exactly what you want from a family run Italian restaurant and it was reasonably priced too. Would definitely come back here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martini Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Martini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martini Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.