We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good curry house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bengal Brasserie

Bengal Brasserie
32 Milsom St, Bath, England
01225 447906
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 443 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Didcot, Oxon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A very good curry house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We first visited the Bengal Brasserie a few years ago, having come across it by chance during a vist to Bath. Having decided to stay in Bath again, I was keen to see if the restaurant was still there. I was slightly dubious about the mixed reviews given on this site but we decided to go anyway and I'm glad we did. Although the restaurant was very quiet, we had a very good time. The food was what we expected (no fancy takes on old favourites) and in fact the portions were so big we struggled to eat it all. The manager and staff were very friendly and we were made to feel at home. Having been to some high end curry houses, we've found that the interior decoration often outdoes the quality of the food and service, but the Bengal Brasserie does exactly what it says on the tin and is very good value for money. A must for proper curry lovers!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely starter but all down hill from there.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Went on a Sunday night at 7.30. Very disconcerting to go into a restaurant to find you are the only ones there (but because of it's basement location, once we went in and down the stairs I felt it would be too rude to walk back out again - big mistake). We ordered the mixed starter which was quite tasty and had us excited about our mains. What a let down. Two different curries that were hard to really taste any real difference between. The meat was chewy, and the curry was like thick goo. I am surprised to read positive reviews about this place and find it very hard to believe that this is Bath's best Indian, if it is poor Bath. Waiters were friendly though, which is just as well as the service charge was not optional.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Lovely food, great service and blows the over-trumped Eastern eye out of the sky.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Yesterday i've been to Bengal brasserie and this was my first visit it was quiet in there but the decorationwas very nice. the service was excellent the food was very tasty. I was recommended a curry which was very nice I forgot the name of the curry but it was very ideal. I will always recommend every one to visit the place at least once to see for your self.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Old-Fashioned Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

There are some mixed reviews for this place, but I've been there three times now and would happily recommend it to anyone looking for decent Indian food. It's not as showy or glitzy as some of the other Indian restaurants in Bath, but not every meal out has to be a special occasion, and I'm glad Bath retains smaller and less glamorous places like this.

Cellar dining isn't for everyone, and the stairs don't provide great access for everyone, but once inside you'll find a cosy and quiet dining area comprised of some booths and a few larger tables. This is ideal for smaller groups, couples and family meals as well as late-night revellers. The decor is hardly up to date, but everything is clean and the atmosphere is welcoming. You may find the place fairly empty away from the weekend, but don't be put off.

The food is very plentiful and really good, comparing favourably with most competitiors in Bath where you might pay more. Tandoori dishes sizzle their way out from the kitchen on the serving trolley, catching everyone's attention. Curries, side dishes and sundries are all well presented, colourful and tasty.

The staff do everything you'd expect, providing relaxed yet efficient service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Bengal Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengal Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.