We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely starter but all down hill from there.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bengal Brasserie

Bengal Brasserie
32 Milsom St, Bath, England
01225 447906
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 439 restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely starter but all down hill from there.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Went on a Sunday night at 7.30. Very disconcerting to go into a restaurant to find you are the only ones there (but because of it's basement location, once we went in and down the stairs I felt it would be too rude to walk back out again - big mistake). We ordered the mixed starter which was quite tasty and had us excited about our mains. What a let down. Two different curries that were hard to really taste any real difference between. The meat was chewy, and the curry was like thick goo. I am surprised to read positive reviews about this place and find it very hard to believe that this is Bath's best Indian, if it is poor Bath. Waiters were friendly though, which is just as well as the service charge was not optional.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    26
    20
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Lovely food, great service and blows the over-trumped Eastern eye out of the sky.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Yesterday i've been to Bengal brasserie and this was my first visit it was quiet in there but the decorationwas very nice. the service was excellent the food was very tasty. I was recommended a curry which was very nice I forgot the name of the curry but it was very ideal. I will always recommend every one to visit the place at least once to see for your self.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Old-Fashioned Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

There are some mixed reviews for this place, but I've been there three times now and would happily recommend it to anyone looking for decent Indian food. It's not as showy or glitzy as some of the other Indian restaurants in Bath, but not every meal out has to be a special occasion, and I'm glad Bath retains smaller and less glamorous places like this.

Cellar dining isn't for everyone, and the stairs don't provide great access for everyone, but once inside you'll find a cosy and quiet dining area comprised of some booths and a few larger tables. This is ideal for smaller groups, couples and family meals as well as late-night revellers. The decor is hardly up to date, but everything is clean and the atmosphere is welcoming. You may find the place fairly empty away from the weekend, but don't be put off.

The food is very plentiful and really good, comparing favourably with most competitiors in Bath where you might pay more. Tandoori dishes sizzle their way out from the kitchen on the serving trolley, catching everyone's attention. Curries, side dishes and sundries are all well presented, colourful and tasty.

The staff do everything you'd expect, providing relaxed yet efficient service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Low quality Indian restaurant lacking in service and atmosphere, with low standard of food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

A restaurant to avoid, even if you fancy a change from your usual Indian restaurant. Starter was only half cooked. Naan bread was a mixture of soggy dough with an occasional crispier part. Service was miserable and the atmosphere, in this very empty restaurant, funereal. Overall, a mistake! But, of course, it may be to your taste!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Bengal Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengal Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.