We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first rate restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raphael Restaurant

Raphael Restaurant
Gascoyne House, Upper Borough Walls, Bath BA1 1RN, England
01225 480042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 457 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“first rate restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my husband visit this restaurant on a regular basis when in Bath and have never ben disappointed staff are friendly and will do anything to make your meal best as possible. Lovely atmosphere food excellent close to Theatre Royal and city centre.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    79
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We enjoy eating here and have found the food and service to be consistently very good. Plenty of choice on the varied menu and wine list. Care and attention to detail is evident in cooking and presentation. In footballing terms we'd rate it as consistently mid-premiership - a bit like Everton and not quite Chelsea.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Quaint bistro. The food was simply superb and the service excellent, attentive but unobtrusive. Would definitely eat there again

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience in bath town center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time that we have used this restaurant and both time it has been excellent. There were four of us in our group and we all agreed that the food was superb and very good value for money. The menu is varied and its nice to try something different, we all had a three course meal bottle of wine and some peroni larger and a round of brandy to finish off and still below £150 for the lot. The service was second to none and the whole atmosphere was great, although it was a little on the warm side we asked them if they could open a window and they did without any fuss.

Would recommend and use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good on Food, Big on Wine, Exceptional on Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Photograph does not do it justice, better on the inside.
Third time my wife and I have eaten here over a period of a couple of years (infrequent visitors to Bath), but we generally see the same personable, attentive and courteous staff. We arrived towards the end of a very busy Saturday lunch session, restaurant was near full to capacity, but staff made us welcome, and so also diners who were just finishing their meal.
This time we introduced our son and girlfiend to Raphaels, both very much enjoyed the experience.
Food is very good without being over exceptional. Two course lunch,£12.95, includes a range of delights that should suit most. Wine (!) we had the Merlot at £16.00 a bottle (approx), lovely.
Toilets are upstairs so anyone with disabilities needs to take that into account.
Raphael's is 100mts if that from the Royal Theatre, and less than a minutes walk from the main shopping areas, very convenient. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raphael Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Raphael Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raphael Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.