We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bath Priory

The Bath Priory
Weston Road | Bath Priory Hotel, Bath BA1 2XT, England
+44 1225 331922
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bath Priory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 436 restaurants in Bath
Price range: $43 - $188
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: The Bath Priory restaurant in Bath has held a Michelin star since October 2012. Found within the Bath Priory Hotel, a Georgian mansion of honey-coloured stone, it’s a great place when you want sophisticated food in an elegant setting. Executive Chef Sam Moody, creates stellar dishes with a strong emphasis on kitchen garden ingredients with an inventive use of traditional herbs and flowers. Where possible, all meat is locally sourced and the menu sticks closely to what’s in season. "
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went to the Priory for lunch on a Monday between Christmas and New Year. The Christmas lunch menu was no longer available and the usual weekday lunch menu was £35 instead of £25, not sure why. Anyway, had drinks and canapés (canapés included in the £35) before lunch (cheese straws, olives and mini fishcakes) in a lovely room overlooking the garden, but unfortunately no atmosphere, felt a bit like a drs waiting room. After the canapés we were escorted through to the dining room. We were offered a lovely selection of bread, all of which was described to us in detail, and which was warm and delicious – there was lots (I think 12 rolls between 4 of us), again included in the £35. Celeriac amuse-bouche was served first, which was a nice surprise and included in the £35 – delicious! I had quail to start, which was ok (others enjoyed, just average down to my personal taste I think). Butternut squash risotto for main was very tasty if not a little over-seasoned. Dessert was banana soufflé with rum & raisin ice cream – delicious! The service was excellent – all of the food we were served was described to us in detail. Coffee and petit fours served after the meal – the petit fours consisted of individual lemon posset with fresh blackberry, peanut brittle, sesame seed brittle, peanut nougat, lemon madeleine’s – beautifully presented and again, delicious! The only criticism would be the lack of atmosphere (unfortunately in the dining room as well), a little background music would be nice, although maybe a that would be just too much for some of the stuffy characters eating here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    190
    45
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Que?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Family logistics determined that this year our now traditional pre christmas meal took place on a Sunday evening.My reservations about eating both on a Sunday evening and in a hotel were fortunately unfounded.No doubt the Head Chef was putting his feet up prior to the Chritmas rush but he obviously has an able deputy who produced food up to Michelin star quality.A little conservative admittedly but they have reached a consistency with the arrival of a star under presumably the guidance of Michael Caines.

What was disappointing was the service.I can eat superior food at half the price at the newly Michelin starred "Wilks" in Bristol ( more like 2 stars having eaten at Outlaws in Rock) so at The Priory I am looking for top quality professional service to justify the additional expense.It is just not there.It is friendly and well intentioned but the poor language skills of some of the staff means that communication is difficult.Clearly the young lady taking our order didn't have a clue what offal was.My "Lamb Plate" was described as " lamb........lamb........ and er... lamb" !!!
Lack of space to put a plate down was solved by using the said plate to shove the offending items out of the way.Coffees served to the wrong guests.

Our bottle of Grand Crus Chablis appeared at the table at the correct temperature only to be,unbeknown to us,plunged into a bucket of ice in an attempt to ruin it.Waiter had a bit of a struggle to get the decantered bordeaux into the glass.

Left to our own devices to retrieve our coats.

Nothing to ruin a convivial evening but someone needs to get a grip.Last visit resulted in constant attention from a waiter who was always at my elbow practically before i had put a morsel to mouth to ask me if every thing was alright and not quite getting my name correct.

Service used to be spot on with the food not.Now that has been reversed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, but not the best value in Bath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night and dined in the restaurant. A quick word on the The Bath Priory as a hotel: wonderful, with luxurious rooms, great service, and a relaxing spa. Definitely the place to stay in Bath. It's a little distance from the city centre, but is walkable (15 minutes) or a short taxi ride.

The restaurant is excellent. We each had the sample tasting menu and were not disappointed. The food was wonderful, very well presented and tasted superb. Each course was enjoyed thoroughly. The timings of each dish were just right and we left feeling full and happy.

Service was welcoming and attentive, but not overbearing. They clearly did their utmost to ensure that we enjoyed our meal and nothing was too much trouble.

The only reason I would not award this restaurant five out of five is that Bath also has the wonderful Menu Gordon Jones, that serves food of a similarly wonderful nature, but at a fraction of the cost. Thus, in terms of value for money, The Bath Priory comes a quite distant second.

I would certainly return to this restart, and it is one of the best I have eaten in. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Totally Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

What an amazing evening, amazing experience and amazing food and drink. Absolutely stunning!!
I attended the Bath Priory with friends, we had the 11 course taster menu and I can honestly say it was totally amazing.
I simply cant wait to go back, the location, the attentiveness of the staff, the service and the food were the best that I have ever experienced.
A truly wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
413 helpful votes 413 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel before but not for several years. At the time we were put off my the overly fussy food and noisy bedroom over the kitchen area. However as we were in the area we decided to give it a go again and went for Sunday lunch. In a word - fabulous. The food was just superb, staff friendly and professional and beautiful setting and lovely Christmas decorations. It was excellent value and we will certainly come back again - to stay this time! Sorry we left it so long!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bath Priory also viewed

 

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bath Priory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.