We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bath Priory

The Bath Priory
Weston Road | Bath Priory Hotel, Bath BA1 2XT, England
+44 1225 331922
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bath Priory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $39 - $171
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: The Bath Priory restaurant in Bath has held a Michelin star since October 2012. Found within the Bath Priory Hotel, a Georgian mansion of honey-coloured stone, it’s a great place when you want sophisticated food in an elegant setting. Executive Chef Sam Moody, creates stellar dishes with a strong emphasis on kitchen garden ingredients with an inventive use of traditional herbs and flowers. Where possible, all meat is locally sourced and the menu sticks closely to what’s in season. "
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I visited for Sunday lunch. The fixed price menu was excellent value and the food was delicious. Service was very good. Despite the excellent food and resulting positive reviews, there were several free tables which was surprising.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    54
    27
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Excellent meal well presented and served, highly recommended. Good wine selection. Already planned to go back for taster menu.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were recently given a voucher for Afternoon Tea as a gift. This was one of the best teas I have ever had. Lovely fresh scones with jam & cream. Lovely choice of delicious cakes & sandwiches. Tea pot refilled when requested. We were given our leftovers in a cake box to take home as there was no way we could finish it all.
This may seem expensive at £35 for two but it is worth every penny. The hotel has beautiful gardens where you can sit on the terrace if fine but the interior is lovely as well.
Well worth treating yourself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delightful good value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Bath Priory is a lovely hotel in a charming setting staffed by a professional and helpful team. We had lunch for four recently and were advised no jeans or trainers (please note that neither Gidleigh Park nor Lucknam Park which we visited in the same week stipulate such a dress requirement - which makes the Priory seem rather old fashioned and out of touch). But regardless of dress code the lunch we had was excellent - and very good value indeed. The gardens looked delightful although we did not have the time to wander. I would certainly consider staying at The Priory when next in Bath. A starter of curried monkfish was delicately flavoured. The main course of lamb was excellent. But the star of the event was the pistachio and olive oil cake for dessert which was moist, not too sweet and accompanied by a white chocolate sauce which was a touch of heaven. Charming setting, charming staff and excellent food well priced. Who could ask for more?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first dining experience at Bath Priory and I hope won't be my last. Everything about the meal from the hospitality and service to the food, wine, and presentation was delicious, impeccable, and first rate. The occasion was a celebration with work colleagues and we were delighted by a multi-course meal with an incredible flight of wines to accompany each course. The portions were perfect and served with much grandeur by a very able staff. The sommelier, in particular, took the time to explain each wine and to answer our questions as the courses were served. And the soufflé is a must - light, delicious, and beautifully presented. All in all a stunning meal. The chef and his staff are to be commended; I could not recommend Bath Priory more highly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bath Priory also viewed

 

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bath Priory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.