We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, terrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bathampton Mill

Bathampton Mill
Mill Lane, Bath, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #282 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bristol, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We have visited Bathampton Mill many times over the past two years, and enjoyed the setting and food. However, I think they may have changed chefs as the food has gone downhill dramatically. Today we were served cold greasy "twice cooked' chips and a stale "freshly baked" pizza. So bad we couldn't eat the chips or the pizza. We were refunded for the pizza, but left hungry and disappointed. Nice for a glass of wine, but whatever you do, don't go there to eat.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    90
    72
    50
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great spot by the river but disorganised service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A good sized pub overlooking the river, weir and bridge, it makes the most of it’s attractive location with a large beer garden and plenty of outside seating, both on the grass alongside the riverbank and on a terrace made of wooden decking running around two sides of the pub. It appears to have been recently refurbished, and I believe that it was badly flooded a few months back which would account for the fresh look.

Inside, the pub consists of one large, open-plan “L” shaped room with a small snug at the back and a mixture of tiling and wood boards on the floor and further wooden boards cladding the back wall. A stone fire-place was at one end and the paintwork was the usual Farrow & Ball pastel shades and whilst pleasant enough it all seemed a little bland and unimaginative like you get I many chain pubs. A few old oak beams were the only nod to anything slightly more authentic. Service at the bar seemed somewhat chaotic – it was a sunny bank holiday afternoon so naturally the pub was very busy, but the problem was not so much a lack of staff but a lack of any organisation with many of them just milling around instead of serving the throng of thirsty punters waiting at the bar. The terrace outside looks to have had some money spent on it, with lots of wooden furniture, candles swinging from the frames above the tables, and even cushions laid out on the benches which was a nice touch. Seating in the garden was mostly plastic by the look of it, but unusually included loungers as well as chairs if you just wanted to relax and admire the view.

Food wise the menu offered a good selection of dishes, perhaps a step or two up from your usual “pub grub” but nothing too out the way and also included a selection of sharing platters and sandwiches. Most of these were priced somewhere between about £9 - £13, and many were available in both small and large portion sizes. We were only there for a mid-afternoon snack so opted for a Beef Tomato, Mozzarella and Avocado Half Baguette with optional Chicken. At £9.45 this seemed expensive, even though it was accompanied with a side-order of chips. As it happens, ours came out without the requested chicken, which I wasn’t too concerned about as long as we didn’t get charged for it, but the waitress Lucy, who incidentally, was very hard working, switched on and a real credit to the place, brought us a whole new baguette complete with chicken this time, and another portion of chips. So in the end, two meals for the price of one was pretty good, but ordinarily of course that would not be the case.

The beer supply seemed just as disorganised as the kitchen and the bar service and despite five pumps on the bar, two had no clips on and two had apparently run out leaving just Gales Spring Sprinter. When a punter next to me asked for this, he was told it had run out, but they had Proper Job on instead. By the time I left, neither of these were in evidence, but they were apparently serving Doom Bar and Gem. The solitary cider was Aspall’s Suffolk which was a bit of a shame – why they couldn’t have offered something a little more local I’m not sure. Overall, I’ve mixed views on this – it’s certainly a very pleasant spot, but whether there is much reason to visit when the sun’s not out is open to debate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for a special meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We booked in advance for a Saturday dinner here. The setting is lovely next to the river (we returned the Sunday afternoon to enjoy a drink in the garden). Service was really good, efficient and friendly. Food was outstanding. Great steak and sharing puddings. (It only gets 4 and not 5 out of 5 because my steak was slightly under-cooked, but did still taste great).

Really nice place for a romantic meal, or fun meal out with friends/family.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing after refurbishment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We ordered a £12.95 pizza and a burger, I was positively stunned at the poor quality of the pizza, the toppings were woefully inadequate, the cheese barely melted and covered only a small proportion of the base. The meat was sparse for a crane pizza and especially for a pizza in this price bracket, a supermarket purchased pizza would have been better.
The burger was good and moist and the attitude of the staff when the pizza was returned was good. Just very disappointing that something of such poor quality could be allowed out if the kitchen at such a usually good establishment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthenshire Wales
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant / Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed at a nearby Hotel and could see the Bathhampton from there ,looking very quaint lit up at night , we took a walk over there to find that it was very popular with loads of locals in the spacious beer garden with their dogs.

we had a drink here in the afternoon and went for Dinner one evening also , the restaurant was very attractive and full and the meal top notch.
To cap our evening off we discovered we were sat next to Nathan Dyer and his Family (Swansea City Footballer) and as we are from near Swansea we spoke to him and had our photo taken also...

If your in this area you need to visit the Bathhampton, you wont be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bathampton Mill also viewed

Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Bathampton Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bathampton Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.